We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us feel special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
R/O 74 Walsgrave Road | Ball Hill, Coventry CV2 4ED, England
02477671242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: Caribbean, English, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out.
Birmingham
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Made us feel special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited Simmer Down on 18th Feb for my husbands 60th birthday. The owners opened up the restaurant especially for us and cooked all my husband favourite food. it was a real treat. Totally blown away with the wonderful food and hospitality. we were really pleased with the food, and couldn't have asked for better.
thank you for a wonderful evening

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello Jackie

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant again. We are so glad that your husband enjoyed his birthday meal, it's always a pleasure to be able to give people food that they really enjoy. We do try to go the extra mile for customers, when we can! and if we get requests in plenty of time we will do our best to accommodate.

We do hope we will see you again at Simmer Down.

Warm regards

Angela & Alph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant tonight and was pleasantly surprised. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious-especially the carrot cake! Very reasonably priced, comfortable and will definitely be returning soon. Would highly recommend. (Don't know what the previous reviewer is on about!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello Laura T

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. Your kind words were very much appreciated particularly following the previous review, it is good to know that we are still providing quality Caribbean food and we are so glad that you enjoyed it.

We do hope you will visit us again and remember we sell the carrot cake in the Cafe as well!

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Worst food i have ever had!the only good thing about the place is the bloke who came round to talk to us at the end.everything was dry,the food was the worst ive had i cant believe this is number one on trip adviser.our meals came out one at a time a couple of minutes between each one.each meal was microwaved and was only warm.2 of our party of 4 were up in the night being sick probably because the rice wernt heated properly.i would never go here again or recomend this to anyone.these reviews are there friends

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi trueboy83

We are very disappointed that you and your party did not enjoy your meals at Simmer Down. We try our best to serve the best quality authentic Caribbean cuisine to our diners. Our aim is to give people the opportunity to try Caribbean food and enjoy it, so this review is disappointing and quite frankly a shock to us as you did not complain on the night and as we have had not complaints in the past.

We are even more disappointed that you chose to air your dissatisfaction on trip TripAdvisor rather than to my husband when he came round to talk to you, if you had complained at the time it would have given us an opportunity to deal with your issues.

Finally in response to two of your party being ill "probably due to the rice not being heated properly", the rice would have been freshly cooked and IF we did put it in the microwave it would only have been to ensure that it was piping hot prior to serving.

I'm sorry that you feel unable to visit us again and that you will not be recommending us to friends, I only wish I was lucky enough to have 33 friends that would be willing to write such positive reviews for us.

Angela & Alph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford on avon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely food and people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The owners and staff here are really lovely. The food was very tasty and excellent value. No licence so we took our own wine with a nominal corkage charge. Only complaint was cold plates &dishes so the food cooled before we finished. Would recommend to anyone wanting real Caribbean food, they deserve to do well and have more customers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for taking time to review our restaurant, we are so glad that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.

Your comment regarding cold plates has been notes and we will endeavor to ensure that we do not make that mistake again, we do usually serve food on warm plates but somehow we slipped up on this occasion.

\many thanks also for your good wishes for our future.

We do hope we will see you again.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just...Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After hearing about this place and seeing how close it is to us; my husband and I thought we would try it, we were not disappointed!I can't think of any faults, service and food were both exceptional and we will be back with people and spread the word.

The restaurant is welcoming, warm and comfortable and the owners were friendly and helpful without fault as we hadn't much experience of authentic Carribean food before. The menu is a perfect size as you know it is all freshly made and theres something for everybody (meats are halal).

We had Jerk chicken and Mutton curry with sides of rice and peas and dumplings which were all extremely delicious and just about right for spice. Not to mention the portion sizes were plentiful! For dessert we had the ginger cake and carrot cake which were homemade and wonderfully light and moist. My husband said it was the best carrot cake he had tasted.

For drinks we brought our own wine but also sampled the fruit punch and the Guinness punch which were excellent.

I also realised this place is a cafe so we will be back in the day too!:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking time to review of restaurant, we are so pleased that you were not disappointed with your visit.

You have described our restaurant very well, if I read your review I'd want to go!, many thanks

Glad your husband enjoyed the carrot cake, it is a close call between carrot cake and ginger in terms of popularity.

We do hope to see you again soon

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.