We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff - really felt at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Jacobean Hotel to your Saves list
The Jacobean Hotel
Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff - really felt at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Warwick uni. Unlike a lot of hotels we were able to have one room for my husband and myself plus our daughter which was great value for money.

All of the staff that we came into contact with were really friendly. When we asked for directions for the uni, the member of staff came back with an AA route planner that he had printed off for us, really going the extra mile.

We had two dinners in the restaurant and found the food to be of excellent quality. We also sampled the high tea and breakfast. They had some really comfy sofa and the staff would often let my husband have the remote control for the tv so he would watch the football - home from home really!

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and the bedroom and particularly the bathroom were a bit tired but very clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities which I always see as a plus.

If our daughter does decide to go to Warwick uni then I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    59
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
35
61
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here last night with our son prior to depositing him at Warwick University this morning. The rooms were spotless, the bathrooms are still awaiting renovation but were clean and functional, and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good, and all in all we had a lovely last evening together. Once the renovations are finished, it will be fabulous....

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the second floor are away from the road and bar, and therefore more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a little Gem this place is. We arrived and the staff were most welcoming showing us to a beautiful table ready for our afternoon tea. The presentation was lovely smoked salmon, beef and mustard, finger sandwiches with two beautifully warmed scones, clotted cream and jam.fresh strawberries, home made shortbread, baileys cheesecake and a square of Madeira cake with tea or coffee refills. And that was £7.50 per person. A must to visit as you can't get better service and food in a relaxing environment. Well done as I have been to a lot of afternoon teas in London,Surrey Berkshire and Hampshire, and yours exceeded them. I'm going to come for a Sunday roast next. Thank you all and looking forward to my return. My mother who I brought will be back on Saturday with her friends as she loved it :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had an excellent stay at Brooklands Grange. The room was large with plenty of space even with four big holdalls and a wardrobe full of clothes. The room was also clean and tidy. What made this stay for us was the staff, they were friendly and accommodating. They let us keep our luggage in a spare room for us, as we wanted to go into coventry to explore and didn't want our valuables on show. They also helped out with printing an email confirmation for tickets for an event. Nothing was too much trouble. The full english breakfast was very good, and the hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuffley,Hertdordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having returned to Brooklands Grange after almost a year I have to say what an improvement.
They are obviously making major refurbishments to the hotel and grounds and now starting to look not so 'tired'. Had a very nice afternoon tea on arrival and would have it again.....All the staff we're excellent... No complaints at all....look forward to the next stay...probably next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not the poshest afternoon tea we've ever had (and we're regular 'tea-ers') but one of the friendliest. Laura was really great and if we'd drunk the huge jug of Pimms she'd made up for us, we'dve had to stay the night! Groupon deal that was well worth the value for money. We were so impressed with the service and the tea that we've decided to go back for our girlie Christmas group meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 15wks in total while working in Coventry. As much as I can't wait to go home, it's like leaving home!
Place is in the middle of an overhaul and I can't wait to come back and see it finished.
Brooklands Grange is on the up, I hope the price it properly and keep the regular custom which we've witnessed.
They get a lot of repeat business and that it's self speaks volumes.

Myself and the 6 men with me will genuinely miss being there but I will 100% be back, great hotel!

Chef, superb, staff, superb, management, doing well at making it all work with their hard work.

Keep it up folks, see you soon! ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jacobean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.