We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant to avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Jacobean Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Jacobean Hotel to your Saves list
The Jacobean Hotel
Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coventry
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Restaurant to avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have dined in the hotel restaurant many times, but not in recent years, however with a celebration dinner to organise, I decided to check that it was as satisfactory as I remembered it! How right I was to do so.

We (my wife and and I) were shown to a table, next to a radiator, hot enough to be a safety hazard - it was almost glowing! We quickly found a table in the centre of the room and waited, and waited. Eventually the waitress approached and mentioned that a couple of items were not available that day - not unusual. We waited again, and waited. After about fifteen minutes we were able to give our order for food and I requested a wine list. The waitress brought this saying she would return in a few moments for our drinks order. We waited, and waited. Eventually a man in "civvies" took our drinks order and departed, not having told the waitress that he had done so, she found out when she came to repeat the process. She then volunteered the information that 'the soup is off", yes, the soup! I substituted paté. We waited and waited. Then along came the starters, but no drinks! My wife became so exasperated that she went in search of them. This did elicit some response form the torpid staff and two glasses of wine and a bottle fo sparkling water were brought by the man in civvies. Then an ice bucket. By this time I was getting worried. Had we inadvertently ordered a bottle not a glass? No, there was the glass on the table. The bucket was for the water, which was brought to the table at room temperature! Ice in the glasses might have been more useful. The white wine was at the same temperature as the water! The gap between the starters and the main course was also long.

The food was average pub standard in my case. My wife's steak, ordered medium was "well done" in fact over cooked and tough. Mine, also ordered medium was on the rare side but would just about have been acceptable as "pub grub". The chips were tired as was the salad.

Just as we were finishing the brave waitress had the temerity to ask "was everything alright" It wasn't and I said so.

By this time the temperature had fallen from saharan to tropical.

The only recompense was the deduction of the charge for the starts, and of course the tip which was of course not forthcoming!

A truly dreadful experience. Needless to say, my celebration dinner will be elsewhere.

I should add that only two tables were occupied and there were two waitresses and the man referred to above.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    59
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
35
61
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Exceptional hotel, in character and service. We recently held our wedding reception at the hotel and from beginning to end it was first class service; they could not do enough. The staff are friendly and facilities are brilliant.
Neither we or our guests could find fault; the food was exceptional and reasonably priced.
The salon on site is well equipped and the skill of the beautician made us all look stunning.
This hotel is brilliant, having stayed in many hotels this is the most intimate and pleasant. Highly recommended, will definitely be returning.
Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to visit family and to do our Christmas shopping in Birmingham town centre. Staying out of the main town saves a lot of money. The room was booked for two but had a double bed and a single bed, was nice to have the extra room. The breakfast was delicious an there was a wide variety of food and the woman on reception was friendl and chatty an let us in late at night without a grumble. It is basic and the bathrooms need updated but you get what you pay for, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and myself spent Christmas eve at this very friendly and comfortable hotel.We were welcomed on arrival and given tea and mince pies. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again and would recommend it .We had the most wonderful breakfast on Christmas morning. We were sorry to be leaving at lunchtime as it would have been great to have joined them for Christmas day.
Perhaps next year we may stay there again.
Thank you for your care during our stay.
Anne and Ray Smith
Derbys.
This break was booked for us as a Christmas gift from my son Andrew

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we arrived at the hotel, having booked a table for 3, last friday night. The occasion was a thankyou meal . Alarm bells rang when we could see, that, apart from the 2 staff, receptionist and cook and the owners,we were the only people eating. We now know why . The food was very poor. Rib-eye steak was to tough to cut and very fatty. The pudding, had more bounce than a bouncy castle. We did complain and were given vouchers for a free meal. But this meal cost us, with drinks£ 88, not reasonable or cheap but the worst meal we have ever had in Coventry or anywhere else for that matter.We have till June to redeem the vouchers, hopefully by then a chef will be in situ.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We live a five minute walk away from the hotel, but had never eaten there, so we decided to book Sunday lunch. We got there spot on time and found there was no 'meet and greet', so we went straight into the restaurant. There, we WERE met by a member of staff who was very friendly and offered us the choice of getting a drink at the bar or going straight in. We said we'd go straight in, and we'd have a bottle of wine with our meal. We were seated by another member of staff, given a menu ( which had a good choice and seemed good value) then we were left. After six or seven minutes, my partner had to go looking a wine list (he got one from behind the bar). And we waited, and waited. There were four members of staff leisurely re-laying tables. They occasionally glanced in our direction, but no-one came to take our order. Eventually, the waiter came and, at that point, informed us that two of the main courses were not available. Since no other meals had been served since we arrived, we did not understand why we had not been told this when we were given the menu. At this point, we left, and walked another five minutes to the local Harvester, where we had a perfectly reasonable meal, served by competent and attentive staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Lovely hotel great location. Sunday lunch was superb the best I've had in a long time. Enjoyed relaxing in the lounge area after. Staff couldn't do enough - very attentive. Myself and family will definitely be returning. I would also like to mention the ladies toilets are immaculate. Which I find usually let a restaurant down. Definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jacobean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacobean Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England (Formerly Brooklands Grange Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Coventry
#11 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Jacobean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Grange Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jacobean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.