We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if you're passing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playwrights cafe bar & bistro

Playwrights cafe bar & bistro
4-6 Hay Lane | Cathedral Quarter, Coventry CV1 5RF, England
+44 24 7623 1441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English, Vegan, Vegetarian, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you're passing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

...this place has quite a good reputation so I was quite looking forward to sampling what Playwrights has to offer for a friend's birthday lunch.

They have a very good range of food and plenty of options to suit all budgets.

Decor is a bit basic inside but clean and fresh. The service was friendly and attentive although a little slow in bringing food out after ordering. Having said that we (four of us) all had different mains off the lunch menu and all were very nice and well presented! Good portion sizes too. I had the poached salmon which was delicious!

Make sure you check your bill though...they tried to overcharge me by £5 until I pointed it out!

I would go again if I was passing by or wanted to catch up for lunch with a friend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alright for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Looks quite nice from the outside, bit boring-looking inside though. The dishes I've tried some were very nice, some just alright, I'd say it's a bit expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Popped in for the first time today .A very friendly member of staff asked whether we were having just drinks or food and drinks ,there was no problem for us just to have a drink although it was lunchtime !!We were asked whether we would like to be inside or to enjoy the sun outside .Our drinks were brought to us quickly .I did look at the specials menu and maybe will eat here soon.The only minus would be the sofas which have seen better days !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A good modern novel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went for a late Sunday lunch, the place is nicely plainly decorated, but pleasant. As it was not busy we were allowed to choose our table. We had the roast pork, lamb shanks and a chicken dish. All our plates went back empty and we did not have room for desserts. The vegetables were served separately and were not soggy. The mains were well seasoned and cooked as needed. The stuffing and Yorkshires were excellent with the pork.
This is a place i would happily revisit for a coffee, lunch or dinner with friends and family.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
619 helpful votes 619 helpful votes
“good food; good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went here for lunch with a friend and the food was very good. The restaurant was relaxed and we could have a leisurely lunch and the price was really good value. I had a chickenwich which was really tasty and very filling. It had a good atmosphere and was great for meeting up! The staff were helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.

There is outdoor seating on the pedestrianised street but it just isn't warm enough yet to warrant sitting outdoors!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playwrights cafe bar & bistro also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Playwrights cafe bar & bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playwrights cafe bar & bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.