We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurants are hard to find in Coventry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playwrights cafe bar & bistro

Playwrights cafe bar & bistro
4-6 Hay Lane | Cathedral Quarter, Coventry CV1 5RF, England
+44 24 7623 1441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: English, Vegan, Vegetarian, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good restaurants are hard to find in Coventry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch, food was very good. Vegetables were fresh and a lovely mixture. The staff were very friendly. It has a 5 rating for cleanliness. I would recommend it highly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food was absolutely delicious - perfect portions, expertly cooked and a great range. It was so hard to choose what to have! Lovely atmosphere too, and seconds away from the cathedral.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Only a passing visit....but will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Visited over Sunday lunch for a quick bite.

Menu looked fantastic. Full menu AND Sunday lunch, the latter looked fantastic.

Just had a steak baguette, and the kids are off the kids menu. No complaints. I enjoyed my food, and so did the kids. Service was great. Location was great. The true test will be in a few weeks when I bring along my mum...the harshest critic in the world. However for me this was a great restaurant and will return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, home cooked food & extensive Gluten Free menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Having recently read an article in "Coventry Evening Telegraph" announcing that this restaurant has created a new "Gluten Free" menu I was eager, as a diagnosed Coeliac for the last 5 years, to try out a new "safe" establishment.

A seperate "Gluten Free" menu is available so make sure you ask for it rather than the usual menu and I promise you will be overwhelmed by the selection available!

A variety of starters, mains and deserts are available and they even serve Gluten Free beer!!

I went for lunch but they also offer the menu in the evening too.

There was so much to choose from but I opted for gluten free beef lasagne with garlic bread. Fabulous and such a treat to eat this in a restaurant!! They have the full gluten free menu included on the website so tantalise the taste buds before you visit.

Obviously, they have their usual menus which again provide a great selection of home cooked food. The rest of my party enjoyed their meals every bit as much as me. Lunch is generally busy but there are plenty of tables with small outdoor seating area for those who like to eat al fresco.

Having spoken to the owners, Nicky & Mick, they have certainly gone to a lot effort and have an excellent understanding and awareness of Coeliac disease to reduce cross contamination etc. Such a welcome change

All the staff are really friendly and helpful.- Well done to all at Playwrights from a very satisfied customer!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Friendly with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great location near the cathedral. Tables outside and inside. Cheerful service (we later discovered it was family run) we enjoyed our meal which was of a good quality and better than the norm for this type of menu. We visited it again on the following night after the 50th anniversary concert of the consecration of the cathedral where we heard Britten's War Requiem.
We just had coffee this time (service as attentive as usual) and met another couple who had also been to the concert. It turned out that he had played (French Horn) in the concert 50 years ago. Quite made my evening. They stay open until quite late too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playwrights cafe bar & bistro also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Playwrights cafe bar & bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playwrights cafe bar & bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.