We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Know what to expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Spon Gate

The Spon Gate
Unit 2M | The Sky Dome, Coventry CV1 3AZ, England
+44 24 7662 7300
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 435 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: JD Wetherspoon opened The Spon Gate in July 2010. It's name derives from one of the gates to the walled medieval city. Part of the city's SkyDome Leisure Complex it offers the perfect place to enjoy a meal and a few drinks when visiting the ODEON cinema or after a bout of shopping at nearby IKEA. Part of the Lloyds No.1 Brand, music is played in the evening and there is a live DJ Thursday - Saturday meaning The Spon Gate provides a relaxed great value drinking and dining option while of an evening it transforms into one of the city's late night hot spots and a great place to party the night away till 3am at weekends!
WORLD WIDE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You Know what to expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Well i travel to the Coventry office a number of times a year from the US. I do like to initially drop in this joint as its more open plan and like an American style Resturant / Bar. .... its hit and miss if you arrive in the last hour and a half before resturant closes regarding food. But at the end of the day you know what you get with joints like this and on the whole you can give them the thumbs up !!! Some nice beers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Can any Wetherspoons produce Eggs Benedict properly?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The Spon Gate is a large city centre pub with an excellent selection of beers, wines and spirits.
We visited today for breakfast and whilst my regular breakfast was up to the high Wetherspoon standard, my other half was served her Eggs Benedict cold......this is not the first time!
The staff were charming and produced another portion, which was still certainly not what you might describe as hot! Come on Wetherspoons get your pubs to serve this correctly or take it off the menu.
Good value unpretentious food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSponGate-Coventry, Manager at The Spon Gate, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Leighb2000,

Sorry to hear your partners eggs were slightly on the cooler side. The eggs benedict is one of my personal favourites and when it's right it really hits the spot! Please accept my apologies for us not quite doing it justice on this occasion. Thank you very much for the feedback, we'll be taking appropriate steps to ensure we're up to scratch in future.

The Spon Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Wetherspoon group with music and dancefloor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great place for a night out or the start for one. Good for a bite and a drink during the day. Friendly service and tables cleared quickly unlike other places.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSponGate-Coventry, Manager at The Spon Gate, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi EssexGrumpy34,

Thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear that our pub doesn't make you too grumpy!

Hope we see you again soon!

The Spon Gate x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

food is excellent, delivered quickly but not under cooked, staff lovely and helpful. fab atmosphere at weekends, dj plays brill selection of music

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSponGate-Coventry, Manager at The Spon Gate, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Hayley,

Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoy the food, and I'll tell the DJ's to keep up the good work!

See you on the dancefloor ;)

The Spon Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Get's busy very early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been a few times. Nice atmosphere inside - food comes within 10 minutes normally. Reasonable priced - food piping hot and delicious :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSponGate-Coventry, Manager at The Spon Gate, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks very much for the feedback AngCoventry! Especially for your kind words. We hope to see you back again soon!

The Spon Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spon Gate also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Spon Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spon Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.