We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hinckley Road, Coventry CV2 2HP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked this room on a very good deal without breakfast on a Saturday night. Very peaceful location, room clean and a reasonable size. Nice en suite bathroom with show and bath. Kettle and tea/coffee. The only gripe would be that the beds were a bit hard. The swimming pool was a fair size but had very slanted sides going into the pool so it was very difficult to swim in it. Large Tesco next door where we went for breakfast, also a large Asda next door, and Aldi and McDonalds at the next roundabout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    149
    76
    29
    11
See reviews for
62
68
18
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, all staff were great, especially those on reception. Good value for money and will definitely stay here again when in the area as it fitted all our requirements perfectly. Although the price was very reasonable, the room had everything we needed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here on Thursday 20th June 2013. When I checked in the receptionist was very difficult to understand as he was European and did not communicate very well. He first told me there was another person booked into my room, but after a little investigating the other receptionist had used my key card for something so all was well. I noticed on the wall that it was £118 for a night and I thought that seems expensive but at least it means the rooms must be fantastic. I walked to my room which was on ground level and when entering I was very disappointed. Although it was clean it certainly was not the Ritz. I have stayed in many hotels and this was only average. I also used the bar and we were served a meal was ok. A pint o Stella was £4.10. Overall not bad but way too expensive at over £100 per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear steve110269,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I guess that Holiday Inns, by their very nature, tend to be faceless. This one will not disappoint. It seemed very business with business conferences, but for two ladies destined to see Bruce Springsteen at the Ricoh Arena, it left us wanting. The lobby is vast and there is little to welcome the weary traveller. We were given our room key and were somewhat annoyed to find a double bed when we had specifically asked for twin beds. It was also a room adapted for a disabled person - no warning to us - we just had to put up with the low sink in the bathroom !!.When we asked for a different room, we were met with a very unhelpful "hotel is full, that is all we have". When we queried that we had specifically asked for twin beds, we were told that our booking through Booking.com cannot guarantee anything - we can only state our preference. Sadly we are not talking a queen or king size bed - it was a very small double. We phoned again to reception, making it clear that this was just not what we had asked for (and we had booked in November for a trip in June). Eventually, and with very little good grace, our room was changed.
All that being said, the breakfast there is excellent so we did leave with a slight smile on our face.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Chrissybubs,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your business! I am sorry you received a room type that you were displeased with. Please understand that bed types are not guaranteed as it will depend on the availability and occupancy level of the hotel. As much as we want to grant your bed type request if it is not available at check-in then we'll have to offer an alternative. Nevertheless, I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and I hope to cater to you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, Friday & Saturday, costing us just £54 in total for us both room only....bargain!! Due to the price being so low, we weren't really expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised!! Free ample parking was a bonus with this hotel, in a great location for us to explore Coventry, Nuneaton & Birmingham.
Our room was located at the end of a very long corridor (room 250), which, even though was a long walk, was good as we didn't have the noise of people walking past our room. The room was clean, bed & bedding comfortable, and the shower very powerful!!
We took up the offer of having breakfast on the 1st morning at the discounted price of £7.50pp for a full English buffet, and we were so impressed that we decided to take it the next morning also.
We also took advantage of the leisure facilities, using the swimming pool, Jacuzzi & sauna, which was a nice treat!
Every member of staff we came across, from receptionists and waiting staff to the night porter, were friendly & helpful.
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars, was the lack of information in the rooms. Whether it was just our room, but we didn't have information on check-in/out times; leisure facility information; breakfast/dinner times etc etc, only a menu for the food & information on corporate customers!!
We will definitely be back, and will recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the end of the corridor. We had room 250, and we had no noise due to being t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here twice this month. It's clean and modern, well furnished. Staff are helpful.

The pool and gym were a big draw for me. The changing rooms are clean, but a bit cramped. The pool was clean and a good temperature.

The fitness suite was way too overcrowded and not enough equipment for the number of users. (Most of the users are club members and not hotel guests) There was a long wait for equipment. Only 1 cross trainer, at least 3 are needed for the number of users.

Downside of this hotel for me was the additional cost of wi-fi, about £25 per 24hrs. Drive up the road to Asda and it's free.

Only 2 tea bags and milks provided...come on...too tight. However, if you ask, they will provide more. £3.50 for a cup of tea at the bar!

The food is good in the bar and the restaurant.

Parking was easy. Some lovely bunny rabbits running around in the hotel ground and even 2 foxes...

Worth £69 per night that I paid, but when I tried to re-book for new dates, there were only £125 rooms available and I wouldn't be happy to pay that for this place. £80 tops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here in May on a National Coach Holidays trip to Stratford and the Cotswolds. 14 ladies for a birthday celebration. The hotel was spotless and the rooms although a bit small were nicely furnished with tea making facilities, television, etc. The food was good and there was ample choice even for a fussy eater like me. The bar area is nice ( a bit of entertainment would have been nice) and they even had Britvic Blackcurrant to go with my lager. The staff were friendly and helpful, I can't believe that there would be any negative reviews about this hotel, for we paid it was faultless, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2

Address: Hinckley Road, Coventry CV2 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coventry
#11 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Holiday Inn Coventry M6 J2 is a spacious purpose built hotel with air conditioning and high speed internet access. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the historic city of Coventry. It enjoys a prime location benefiting from the motorway networks of the M6, the M1 and the M69. The Holiday Inn Coventry is only a 15 minute drive from Birmingham Airport and also a 15 minute drive from the Birmingham National Exhibition Centre (NEC). Coventry City Football Club's stadium, the Ricoh Arena, is just an 8 minute drive. They have hosted concerts like Oasis and Take That, the Rugby EDF Energy Cup Semi-Finals and the Midlands Motor Show. Also located beneath the arena is the 36m Isle of Capri Casino offering gaming and entertainment. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Coventry and Warwickshire. Just a short drive from the hotel you can visit the historic castles of Kenilworth and Warwick, the stately homes and gardens at Stoneleigh Abbey and Coombe Abbey. For the motor enthusiast there is Silverstone and Mallory Park motor racing circuits, Coventry Transport Museum and the Heritage Motor Centre all within easy reach. Back in the hotel after a day exploring indulge yourself in our Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool, before dining in our contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Coventry m6, Junction 2 Hotel Coventry
Coventry Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Coventry M6, Junction 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.