We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renamed Hair and Hounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hare and Hounds

The Hare and Hounds
Watery Lane | Keresley, Coventry CV7 8JA, England
02476 332716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 427 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Renamed Hair and Hounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lovely meal but oh so put off by dogs running around the eating area, one dog actually cocked his leg up a chair. Will not bother going again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    12
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went there for a meal on the 8th of November 2012.Had I been told the starter I was eating was an old tyre i would not have questioned it.So tough was it that I ended up having to hold the meat over the table candle to soften it up.The main was equally as disappointing,tasteless and bland,Gregg Wallace and John Torode from Master Chef would have thrown it at the chef.

Bar staff were very friendly but the women who I assumed was in charge took it upon herself to clear our table while my girlfriend went to the loo and I was at the bar even though we had not finished (probably did us a favour really).The same woman then decided to sit opposite us discussing her gripes about staff etc with another visitor.Totally inappropriate in front of customers!

Needless to say,I wont be making any repeat visits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cheap and chirpy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we attended the quiz night and it was enjoyable, drinks were reasonable prices and a good atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“spur of the moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

typical pub menu generous portions, excellent food clean surrounding and and heated smoking area outside, staff polite and good service no back ground music and toilets out dated, no soap wash hands with

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good pub food, atmosphere needs work.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We popped along early evening midweek for a meal.

We asked for a table for two, were given two choices and opted for one in the main restaurant. We ordered a Scampi & a Steak & Ale pie. Many of the specials were unavailable as was the Rump Steak.

Both meals were huge and well cooked when they arrived, much more than we could eat. Simple enough food but very nice. Service was good, condiments fresh, especially tartar sauce, not the usually vinigary plastic sachet fair.

On the negative side; locals always turn and stare at whoever comes through the pub doors, restaurant not signed from bar area (tucked away), menus not cleaned and had sauce/gravy stains, very echoey atmosphere (perhaps deaden this with some soft furnishings), very noisy kitchen when doors swing open (could tell that the chef was having trouble finding my Scampi).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hare and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.