We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight couple stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Coventry Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Coventry Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Coventry Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overnight couple stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was a pleasant enough evening, the staff were polite which i think makes a hotel (apart from one member of night staff who kept staring at me every time i was near her). The room was very clean and fresh and when we requested extra pillows that was sorted straight away. I was slightly disappointed with the restaurant as it was after 10pm when we were looking to order we had to order from the 24hr menu, i was fine with doing this but when my partner went to order everything he said they kept saying they didn't have anything in stock. When you do eventually get your food its freezing; not at all acceptable for the price of the food (you pay £5 for one sandwich/toastie). It's also very noisy outside in the early hours of the morning, i was awoken about 8 times and didn't get a good nights sleep at all. I didn't expect as much noise for a sunday night and a lot of the noise seemed to be from staff/other guests and then lorries and bin men. I don't think i would pay this price for this hotel again, i wouldn't pay any more than £25 for the room and we paid £40. If you're on business this hotel definitely isn't suitable, no sleep and no decent food available isn't good when you're working. Maybe ok for families if you can handle the excessive noise that we weren't warned about. I will also say the bathroom is extremely small which is understandable but they have no extractor fans or air flow so the room becomes unbelievably hot, if i wasn't with my partner and couldn't leave the door open i wouldn't have been able to use the shower because it made me feel faint. The bathroom cannot fit more then one person in at a time and has a large step which isn't great unless you want to leave the hotel with several broken toes, definitely not good for young children as you'd have to be watching them constantly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor over looking the car park, all of the noise from the ground floor and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on [h2793-gm@accor.com or 02476250500] to discuss this further. Kind regards, [General Manager Sam White]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    125
    60
    28
    19
See reviews for
42
72
45
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is my second time staying here. This time I stayed for 16 days with my wife and had been treated well. The parking is free (just validate the parking ticket at the counter) and and the area is safe. The room condition is very modern and clean. The breakfast is very healthy (but it is the same for whole duration). I was given option whether to take breakfast there or not, and it will be charged accordingly.

Location is perfect - nearby to city center. The halal restaurant is only 5-10 minutes walks away. Bus Station is 3-5 minutes drive. Warwick University is 7-10 minutes drive.

Wifi is free and works well.The staff are very courteous. I even asked for extra towel and they provide to me everyday. The room cleaning service could be better (The drinking glass was left unwashed. There were occasion where I left my pajamas on the bed, and later I could not find it that night. After searching, it was left under the bed-sheet/comforter. The cleaner just make up the bed and put the bed-sheet/comforter on top of pajamas. Maybe I was expecting the cleaner to fold it up and put on top of the bed.)

Overall, I have no regret staying here. If it is not for the house keeping issue, I would give "Very Good" for the price offered.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT facing the car park has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to housekeeping issue, rest reassured I will look into that matter and make sure it will not happen again. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sam White]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I'd actually give this 2.5 stars out of 5 - Very average. We stayed on November 30th 2013

I was travelling back home and wanted somewhere to stay to break the journey up. Although we booked late we ended up paying £75 for the room. We were completely ripped off with the price, but had no choice to pay it. My partner was ill and we had to stay somewhere. I booked via my credit card and was told on arrival that they needed to see my card. Now i'm all for security, but i do not carry this card with me at all times. After trying to explain and offer countless forms of ID and showing the online banking from my phone for that card the guy on reception was having none of it. I ended up refunding the card and paying on my debit card to save the hassle. I didn't read the small print and have never come across this problem at any other hotel i've ever stayed at - I've stayed at all the major brands in the UK and not come across this once.

The room was nice and big but right next to reception, all we heard all night was drunken revelers and got no sleep at all - I didn't complain due to the previous issue and we checked out early.

Not a good experience, but certainly a lesson learned and from now on i'll read the small print a bit better.

Tip - Make sure you always have the card you booked with when staying at any IBIS

Room Tip: Stay away from any rooms near reception - You hear everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam W, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Coventry Centre. I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay and service. I hope you will appreciate the fact our staff is only following procedures to avoid fraudulent use of credit cards. With regards to noise I will personally mention and retrain staff members to assign rooms far from lobby area. Kind Regards, General Manager Sam White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Coventry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry Centre

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Coventry Centre is ideally located in the historic centre of Coventry, a short stroll from the busy shopping districts, 5 min walk from train station and 10 minutes by train or 20 by car car from Birmingham NEC. The hotel has 89 en-suite rooms with double showers, air cooling system, free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. It has a restaurant open on most weekdays and a snack menu serving warm food 24/7. There is also a bar open day and night and private on site car parking available for additional charge (£3 per vehicle per day). Wireless Internet is available in the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Coventry Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Coventry Centre Hotel Coventry
Accor Coventry Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Coventry Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.