We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Ibis hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Coventry Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Coventry Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Coventry Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    125
    60
    28
    19
See reviews for
42
72
45
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel was clean, well looked after and in a brilliant location - a 5 minute walk and you're in the centre of town. Breakfast was a bit pricey, although there was piles of it! The hotel itself has a bar, which was reasonably priced, and as an added bonus, it was open 24 hours. There are lots of pubs and bars in the surrounding distance, and all of them are staggering distance. The room itself wasn't massive, but it is suited to purpose. The bathroom is a pod style, with loo, shower and sink. The bed is huge, and it is soooo comfy! Best night's sleep i've had for a long time. If, like me, you always manage to leave something like a toothbrush behind, one can be purchased at reception. After reading reviews on here about the air-con, we decided to have a play with the controls, and found out it is not air-con, but a heater (makes sense, there are no radiators in the room). The corridors were clean, and smelt of air freshener, and house-keeping will leave a bag with towels and sundries in outside your door if you can't bring yourself out of those beds!. We will stay here again, it was a great price for a quality hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park don't have the noise from the main road, but can be eerily quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for your review. I have shared your feedback with the whole team and we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to see that you found our New Sweet Ibis Bed comfortable and that standard of our room, breakfast and bar offer met your requirements. We hope to welcome you back again to Ibis Coventry Centre.

Kind regards,
Joanna Torbus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very easy to find, for users of sat-nav, but the ring road can be a bit confusing if you haven't got one. Ample parking albeit at £3 per day. Very quick, friendly and efficient check in, although one person on their own will struggle to check people in and serve at the bar at the same time. The room was clean and well presented, with a "pod" style bathroom. No bath, just a shower. Nice fluffy towels and the bed is very comfy!. Tea and coffee makings in the room, and as you would now expect a flat screen TV, with freeview, and pay per view channels. there is free wifi throughout the hotel, and you can also connect wired with the hub in the room. Others have moaned about no air con, but remember we are in the UK, and don't often have weather requiring such "luxuries". The policy of Ibis is to sort your problem within 15 minutes. I'm sure asking for a sheet to use with your duvet would not be a problem, plus, if you are upstairs, you can always leave the window open. On leaving the "do not disturb" sign on the door, the maids left clean towels and further tea and coffee supplies in a bag outside the door.
The bar is 24hr and is staffed sensibly with "bouncers" overnight, that discourages any unruly behaviour as I'm sure the reasonable rates charged would encourage contractors due to its central location.
The town centre is only about a 10 minute stroll through an underpass (it would be quicker if you could go across the ring road), where there are several bars and restaurants open until the wee small hours.
The breakfast, (which priced at £7.95 is a bit steep compared to what is around in town) is buffet style so you can help yourself over and over again.
All staff are very friendly and helpful, and say if there is anything they can do to make your stay more enjoyable, just ask, although as stated often only one was on the desk/bar at any one time so there can be a bit of a wait.
We will stay here again for future events at Stoneleigh park, and other events in the area.

Room Tip: Even numbers face the car park- quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for your very positive comments. I have shared your feedback with reception, housekeeping and maintenance departments. We are all very pleased that our standards met your expectations both in regards to hotel bedrooms, cleanliness and breakfast offer as well as customer care. We very much appreciate your comments and your approach to air conditioning system in the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon- maybe during next Stoneleigh event.

Kind regards,
Joanna Torbus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel needs something of a facelift, but the room was clean, the bed comfy, and the shower good.

I asked for a quiet room, and that was sorted. The staff were friendly and helpful.

This hotel is a short walk from the centre, and I would recommend going into town for tea - the food at the IBIS wasn't great... I had a jacket potato with tuna mayo (very nice), a corn on the cob (horrid) and the cheesecake (frozen in the middle and soggy). I would advise nipping to Nandos.. its only a 10 minute walk.

It is also close to the train station, and just off the ring road, so easy to get to.

I would stay here again, as on the whole it was OK. I generally stay at the premier inn up the road, which is far better.

Oh, and the air con didn't work, at all. It wasn't a big deal for me - but I can imagine it'd be awful on a really hot day!

Room Tip: I was in 130 - nice and quiet, with a view of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Ms Day,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see that you found our New Sweet Ibis Bed comfortable, hotel clean and that you liked the shower room. I have also shared your positive comments in regards to customer care with the whole team. At the same time please accept my apologies for the standard that the food served fell below your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the team working on the day. I was very sorry to hear that despite following up on the meal, none of the issues were raised. We would have replaced the meals or offer refund shall any of the problems been shared with us.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Ibis Hotel.

Kind regards,
Joanna Torbus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed one night on business with a work colleague. Waited a good 10 minutes at reception whilst the one person available ( a trainee ) served drinks and took food orders. Got to my room to find key card had not been activated. Back downstairs and after another wait eventually got into my room. The room was OK apart from the heat but the corridor had an unpleasant smell. Others have referred to the heating problems. The hotel are trying to address this by closing the curtains and leaving windows open but it is still unpleasantly warn and this is after the worst of the warm weather is over.
Down to dinner in the bar. Without going into details one very helpful girl and the trainee had been left to cope when the chef failed to turn in for work. They did their best but the hotel was simply too busy for 2 young members of staff to cope alone. This is not a criticism of these staff members but of management who should not have put them in this position. By the end of the evening they looked exhausted having coped with a barrage of complaints and dissatisfied customers.
I am afraid that I will not be staying here again and would not recommend to anyone. The management of this hotel need to sort themselves out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. Please, accept my apologies for the delays experienced while checking in and while dining in the restaurant. I am also sorry that you found the hotel too warm and that the key card was not activated properly causing you inconvenience having to come back downstairs to reception. I have shared your feedback with relevant hotel departments. I would like to confirm that we are addressing all the concerns raised in order to avoid future reoccurrence.
Kind regards,
Joanna Torbus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights and found the hotel of good quality. It's a bit of a walk into the central city but not too far, and an easy walk from the train station (unless you ask a policemen who sends you by the most circuitous route imaginable!!). A fridge and safe deposit box in the room would be a useful addition, as would a guest laundry room.
I would echo the criticism of the air con. No explanation given in-room as to why it shuts down - I thought it was faulty. And 21 degrees is higher than many would want the room to be set at (I usually go for about 18 degrees). Outside temperatures are not reflected inside the hotel rooms. An unusually hot summer is no excuse - the guest should be able to control their own environment.
Rooms facing the main arterial road are a bit noisy but not too bad.
Good sized rooms and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for posting your review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please, may we inform you that we have safe deposits available free of charge at the reception desk. We also arrange for laundry and dry cleaninng returned on the same day. Prices are displayed in the bedroom. Please, accept my apologies for the fact that you found the room temperature to be too high. During the last two weeks of very hot weather we made sure to draw the blings in order to block the sunlight and we left the windows slightly ajar to ensure flow of fresh air. Please accept my apologies that these measures did not keep the room as cool as required.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Ibis again.

Kind regards,

Joanna/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Coventry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry Centre

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Coventry Centre is ideally located in the historic centre of Coventry, a short stroll from the busy shopping districts, 5 min walk from train station and 10 minutes by train or 20 by car car from Birmingham NEC. The hotel has 89 en-suite rooms with double showers, air cooling system, free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. It has a restaurant open on most weekdays and a snack menu serving warm food 24/7. There is also a bar open day and night and private on site car parking available for additional charge (£3 per vehicle per day). Wireless Internet is available in the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Coventry Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Coventry Centre Hotel Coventry
Accor Coventry Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Coventry Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.