We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Coventry Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Coventry Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Coventry Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Somerset, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grim”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Not great and poor value for money. Breakfast of economy sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs. No room service. I would advise doing your ironing in advance; no irons in rooms, instead they will write you out a code on a scrap of paper and tell you to go down to the ironing room, where there is one iron to meet the needs of the entire hotel, in it you will find a rickety ironing board with a loose cover. A skanky iron with a dirty sole plate, and a beer glass to fill the steam chamber. The light goes out every 5 minutes and the iron switches itself off of its own free will.
The hotel is clean and the staff helpful, but all in all a pretty miserable experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. I am glad that you found the hotel clean and the staff helpful. Please, let me inform you that the ironing room is inspected each morning by Head Housekeeper. I am sorry that at the time when you used it it was not up to the expected standard. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    119
    56
    28
    17
See reviews for
42
67
41
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Ibis is within a stones throw of a Formula 1 hotel! There was people playing cricket in the car park and sunbathing on their deck chairs!
The rooms are dirty and grotty; it's in major need of a update. The carpets need to be removed and the light sockets didn't work! I know it's a budget hotel but I've stayed in budget hotels and this is worse!
The food and the staff are amazing but we left a day early due to the room.

Room Tip: Rent somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with the standard of bedroom carpet and experienced problem with the bedroom socket. I have shared your comments with hotel Head Housekeeper and maintenance department. I am pleased to see that you found both hotel staff and the food satisfactory. We do apply 15 Minutes Satisfaction Policy in Ibis Hotels; shall the guest raise any concerns in regards to the stay, we will do our best in order to resolve it within 15 Minutes or process a refund if we fail to do so. As per the policy, the hotel staff would have moved your room rightaway shall you have reported any of the issues. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pleasant and helpful staff. Room very clean, and well-designed bath-room allows maximum space for shower. Complimentary soap had pleasant eau-de-Cologne smell, but unfortunately the tea-bags & tea smelt and tasted of soap!
Evening-meal (Groupon menu) starter of olives & ciabatta, and baked beans at breakfast, were good, but otherwise, avoid the restaurant at all costs!! - The manager thinks chicken chasseur is made with bolognese sauce, the dessert was still deep-frozen (though we had had to order our meal 3 hours before!), and the breakfast scrambled eggs are made from a bought-in liquid mix and have the texture of half-set road-marking: those areonly the worst of the gripes!
Convenient for city centre; stop for buses 2 and 3a in near-by Quinton Road

Room Tip: The rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your time to write a review. Due to very attractive price offered via Groupon vouchers, there is a special menu arranged for our guests as per the terms and conditions of the deal. I'm really sorry for the deplesant stayng at the restaurant and we have already changed the name of the dish that you have mentionned (chicken chasseur) even if the recept, in France, can include tomatoes sauce, mashrooms and shallots. For the dessert i have already shared you review with my staff and i'm sure that it will not happen again.
I would like to thank you for your comments. Please, rest re assured that they will be followed up with relevant hotel departments. Kind regards,Salvi Nicolas Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, but there was a chemical type smell which could be smelt in the hall way and was very strong in my room.

Good location and value for money. Beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you veru much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have also shared your feedback with the team. Please, accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered about the chemical smell on the room, i have shared your review with our housekeeping team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Nicolas / Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A nice simple hotel very close to the city centre. The room was big and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Walking to the city centre was just 5 minutes. Breakfast was very good and everybody was very helpful. It is a good place to stay visiting Coventry. The area was quiet and safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you veru much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have also shared your feedback with the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Walking distance from railway station to hotel but have to use subway to get there (we managed to drag our bags there!). Front office staff were busy but efficient and no problems with check in. Encountered some hiccups with the key card (became invalid each day), phone not working but we didn't need to use it as reception was just a flight of steps down, toilet lever wasn't working and we had to use the toilet downstairs for one day as the mechanic wasn't available to fix it. Think the problem was peculiar to our room. However, overall experience was average, front office staff were helpful and did their utmost to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with the team. Our maintenance engineer has now fixed the problems relating to the toilet flush and telephone socket. Please, accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered. I would also like to apologise for the room card being deactivated. May I just kindly note that the room card strip may sometimes get deactivated when placed next to electronic device such as mobile phone. I would like to thank you for your positive review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The fact that this Ibis is significantly higher in the rankings of hotels in Coventry than the other one is probably down to the diligence of the manager. She can be observed checking and helping most of the time.

Some of our party had a smelly and/or noisy room, although I was lucky. Recommend asking to not be on the road side if you are a light sleeper. Everyone agreed that the beds are really comfortable. Bathrooms are the usual pod style for these hotels but are functional and the shower is good.

The iron in the communal ironing room has seen much better days and best avoided if possible.

The biggest problem for the hotel is that having just 3 people doing check in, bar, waiting on and kitchen means that service is well intentioned but sometimes poor. The guys are effectively trying to provide service for two hotels given that facilities are shared with the adjacent Formula 1. We had to wait for over an hour for our meals and observed other people sending back food because it was still frozen in the middle. Recommend eating out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Ibis Coventry Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I would like to thank you for submitting your review. I am pleased to see that you appreciate the efforts made on a daily basis in order to ensure good customer service. At the same time, I would like to thank you also for your negative feedback. We are now taking actions addressing the issues you have reported. Please, feel free to e-mail me on h2793-gm@accor.com if you wish to discuss the delay in restaurant service. I would also like to offer you complimentary dinner during your next stay or- if you prefer, discount on the room rate. I am sure that your next stay will be completely hassle-free. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Coventry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coventry Centre

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coventry Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Coventry Centre is ideally located in the historic centre of Coventry, a short stroll from the busy shopping districts, 5 min walk from train station and 10 minutes by train or 20 by car car from Birmingham NEC. The hotel has 89 en-suite rooms with double showers, air cooling system, free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. It has a restaurant open on most weekdays and a snack menu serving warm food 24/7. There is also a bar open day and night and private on site car parking available for additional charge (£3 per vehicle per day). Wireless Internet is available in the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Coventry Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Coventry Centre Hotel Coventry
Accor Coventry Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Coventry Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.