We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coventry Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Cathedral

Coventry Cathedral
Coventry, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Attractions in Coventry
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Coventry Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Amazing setting, very tranquil after the bustle of the city and a good place for reflection. Moving place to be.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    212
    52
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Where is the heart and soul of Coventry Cathedral”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Whilst not being a an overly religious person and appreciating that the new Cathedral is only 50 years old. I found the Cathedral very cold and unwelcoming.
The blitz experience was closed despite being advertised as open daily which was disappointing as was the extra charge for this had it been open.
I also felt that having paId to enter the adittional requests for donations were excessive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is awesome to see the old and new cathedrals which are quite close together so they can be contrasted quite easily, it makes you realise the devastation that was caused in Coventry by the bombings. You have to pay to go into the new cathedral but it is quite magnificent

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Coventry cathedral”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went for a school trip it was really good, but i hoped we would have more of a histroical (indepth) tour. But i did learn a very intresting fact. The natzis turned the peace sign on its sign to represent evil...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Contrast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was quite sad to see the ruins of the old cathedral devastated in WW2.The "new" cathedral has a charm of its own in stark contrast to the old.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coventry Cathedral also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Coventry Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.