We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice idea but a shame about the food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DC-6 Diner

DC-6 Diner
Coventry Airport West, Baginton, Coventry CV8 3AZ, England
+44 24 7688 2604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 453 Restaurants in Coventry
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice idea but a shame about the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had heard about the diner from a friend and decided to give it a go for my parents birthdays.
The idea is a fantastic one and the set up us brilliant.
However I can't say much for the food.
There were 6 of us in our party and none of us really enjoyed what we had.
We had high hopes of the burgers, however they were dry, overcooked and not really the best quality meat. The chips were cool and not hot and the coleslaw that we ordered was very peppery and dry?
Startwea were ok but they were very poorly presented and we had to ask for things like plates to eat the 4 person platter with.
My farther in law had a chilli dog and it was the same chilli meat that was on the nachos we had with our starter. Which was even more disappointing.
All in all we all came away disappointed and certainly won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    77
    34
    15
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Novel idea, but not very welcoming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the DC6 Diner for midweek at 1pm, but owing to a travelling problem had to phone to say we were running an hour late and wouldn't be there until around 2pm. However the advert stated that dinner was served from 12:00-- until 3pm so thought we would still be OK. However, we were then told last orders would be taken at 2pm. We managed to arrive around 2:05pm and were immedediately under pressure by the young girl to get our order in as soon as possible as they closed at 3pm (the four of us did spend £108 that day)!. It was obvious the staff wanted to be away by 3pm so felt under pressure to eat and go!

The idea of the Diner is excellent and is such a novel idea. The food went down well with the grandkids although did not necessarily appeal to adults. It was just that this unnecessary pressure took the edge of the meal and we could have done without it! A bit of Customer 1st training is required here I think!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love the idea, shame though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I took my father and family 10 of us to eat here, my Father loves planes so perfect... We had most of the plane to ourselves as we went Sunday afternoon. The setting is brilliant the concept is brilliant, the menu is adequate but fit the US diner idea.
One thing that bugged me, was that we wished to order four portions of fajita's to share to start while we chatted and talked about what to eat. This is not allowed the young girl said, i assumed she was joking, she wasn't! It upsets the kitchen i was told. So ordering food upsets the kitchen........ After discussion we all ordered mains and no starters, who missed out there i wonder?
If they don't want the business well lucky them.
We loved the place but i think a bit of staff training could be in order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Service from manager and staff exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

An amazing experience from beginning to end...well done to russell and his team..a great time had by all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and really novel idea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went for ameal with friends to celebrate a birthday and having read many of the previous reviews was a little unsure of what to expect.
All I can say is it is well worth a visit..
The food was great, service was great and staff were very attentive without going over the top.

The children and adults alike enjoyed the opportunity to go into the cockpit and explore the plane and surrounding area outside, whilst watching the planes and helicopters come in to land.

We will definitely be returning again and recommending this as an alternative place to eat to all our family and friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC-6 Diner also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to DC-6 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC-6 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.