We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shimla Spice

Shimla Spice
2 Copthall House, 3 Station Square, Coventry CV1 2FL, England
02476224085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 401 restaurants in Coventry
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been coming here for about the last 25 years. management has changed over the years but it is still my favourite curry house in cov. Good food nice staff and nice comfy restaurant i have honestly lost count on how many times i have eaten here. i love it!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    9
    13
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My friend and I popped in on saturday night just after 11pm to have a meal. We ordered a drink each and two popadoms which were very stale. The waiter came straight over and asked if we were ready to order our meal when we hadn't even looked at the menu. There was no customers in the restaurant and they were hovering to have a quick order and to get you out quickly. We decided we did not want to order a meal because the waiter was very rude and also because the popadoms were stale which I did tell him. We asked for the bill and when it came we realised they had added six pound on for service charges because they said we hadn't had a meal. We refused to pay for this and the waiter turned very nasty. We left the money for the drinks and the popadoms and told him we would never return again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we have ate here numerous times and really enjoy going back. the food is always great, fresh and very tasty :D even the set menu is excellent yes its a little pricey but its a nice place to eat.

Only ever prob we had was when we went with a group of 10 and they tried sneaking extra things on to the bill, thinking we wouldnt notice. They were wrong we did notice and was soon rectified but dont let that put you of its a pleasent place to eat :D

Parking not to great,

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shimla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

They take a long time to serve. They also have problems doing the bill accurately, esp if you ask for separate checks.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good quaility at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Not being used to Indian food recently I stayed with the tried and trusted - Chicken pakoras, Lamb Dopeaza, Pulau Rice and various condiments. Very impressed with the quality and presentation and on our next visit to Coventry will be a bit more adventurous. The restaurant was full with at least three large family parties but the service was unphased by the numbers - not always the case . One small point, granted the restaurant was busy but we did fell a little under pressure to leave once we had finished, plates being cleared very quickly and the bill presented before we asked for it

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Spice also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Shimla Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimla Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.