We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great day out for free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Transport Museum

Coventry Transport Museum
Millennium Place, Coventry CV1 1JD, England
+44 24 7623 4270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Attractions in Coventry
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you're looking for a fantastic FREE day out for all the family, you can't beat Coventry Transport Museum. In the heart of Coventry city centre, this huge Museum is home to the world's largest collection of British road transport, and a visit whisks you away into a world of stories of real people, real passions and real hope.You'll discover the stories behind the people who made Coventry the centre of the world's motor and cycle industries, and get up close and personal with the actual vehicles that defined some of history's most important moments. The Museum is laid out as a journey through time - you'll wander 19th Century streets and discover the first bicycles, carriages and cars, then explore the first car factories and gasp as you witness their wartime destruction in the Blitz Experience. The journey continues through the Boomtown, Spirit of Speed and Ghost Town galleries to bring you right up to the present day.A visit to the Museum brings you face to face with Royal cars, military vehicles, and cars that played vital parts in their drivers' life stories - none more so than the current Land Speed Record holding vehicle, ThrustSSC, which lives at the Museum. Not only can you marvel at this spectacular piece of British engineering, you can experience for yourself what it's like to travel through the sound barrier at over 760mph in the ThrustSSC Simulator. ***Please Note*** Coventry Transport Museum is undergoing a major redevelopment programme during 2014 and the early part of 2015. The Museum remains open throughout this work but you are advised to check the Museum's website to see how your visit may be affected.***
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Florida
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“What a great day out for free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We really didn't expect to spend the entire day here, but we did. The museum contains a fascinating history of Coventry and its connection to all types of transportation. While my husband focused on the machinery involved, I enjoyed the people parts. The Ghost town gallery was thought provoking as I tried to decide which industrial policy would be best when factories were trying to stay afloat. The displays of unique automobiles, motorcycles, and other vehicles came with lots of information and plenty of stories.

The museum had something for everyone. I was quite sad that our grandchildren were not with us as they would have loved this museum. There were things to look at and things to touch. There were movies and interactive displays. There were history, sociology, engineering, manufacturing, and more. There was a simulation ride on the world's fastest car that my husband really enjoyed.

We had an ok lunch in the cafe and left as they were locking the museum doors. We did buy the souvenir booklet since the entry had been free and this was far better than many attractions that cost a lot more. It also gave us a chance to learn more about all we had seen during the day.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    239
    31
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

brilliant! went with our toddler who is obbessed with all things with wheels and he absolutely loved it! so much to see and do and something to interest all ages! hubby got a go on the the worlds fastest car simulator while i got to read about womens lib and my 2 year old got to gaze at the train sets! so we were all happy! nwell worth a visit and best of all its free! although i strongly recommend making a donation as its such a wonderful resource!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovTM, Public Relations Manager at Coventry Transport Museum, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thanks very much for your fabulous review - one of our key aims is to appeal to all ages and it's great to hear that we are getting it right.

We hope to welcome you and your family again soon
Best wishes
Stephanie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting even if you aren't a fan of cars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband is a car nut! He loved this museum and I was prepared to endure it for his sake. However, I was delightfully surprised. The Coventry Transport Museum has many very unusual cars and gives detailed histories and context, like how wealthy would you have to have been to have afforded the car in the year it was made and how families/owners would have used the car.

The best part though, was the "time travel" piece in the center of the museum. It was like a little maze and it took you into the town of Coventry when they were famous for bicycles and other iron works and slowly took you through the change to manufacturing automobiles, the growth in the industry, through World War II, and through the recovery. It was extremely well done and had enough information to help you imagine how life would have been for you had you lived there.

For those interested in speed, they had the simulator and the first and second fastest cars on earth, as well as a simulator.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovTM, Public Relations Manager at Coventry Transport Museum, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thanks for your wonderful comments - it's always lovely to hear from our visitors from overseas and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
We hope to welcome you back to the Museum some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of cov's best attractions, and always has been.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

I couldn't count the number of times I've been over the years, with my grandad and now with my own kids. The fairly recent renovation is very nice, and there have been some great (paid) exhibitions lately. Great attraction.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovTM, Public Relations Manager at Coventry Transport Museum, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks very much for your kind review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards
Stephanie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
307 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
619 helpful votes 619 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We went recently with our toddler and she loved looking at all the cars and bikes, the best part being where they vehicles are set out in period scenes. There are places dotted round the museum for colouring which also kept our little one entertained while we had the chance to take a closer look at some of the exhibits on offer. I have not been on the simulator ride for Thrust so I have no idea if it worth the extra money. It is a great wet weather activity here in Coventry and suitable for the whole family and even better that it is free!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovTM, Public Relations Manager at Coventry Transport Museum, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Just a quick note to say thanks for reviewing the Museum - recommendations from real people such as yourselves are invaluable to us, so a big thank you. I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Museum again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coventry Transport Museum also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Coventry Transport Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Transport Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.