We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catastrophy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneleigh Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stoneleigh Park Lodge to your Saves list
Stoneleigh Park Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoneleigh Park | Near Coventry, Coventry CV8 2LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Catastrophy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Was very dissappointed in this Accommodation, how it was ever awarded an AA 4+ rating has me baffled. Rooms are very basic and I just had one complaint after another. Firstly I had to ask for the pillows to be changed as they were very soft and a very poor quality as was the rest of the Bedding, also I had to ask for a Towel to be replaced as it had been washed but had a dried in Blood Stain, next when I lifted the Toilet Seat the Toilet was absolutely filthy. The Receptionist Helen was very helpfull and said she would clean the Toilet herself as there were no Cleaners around. She tried very hard to clean it but the Staining was so engrained she could'nt get it off. She then said she would find us another room. She actually looked at three more rooms to find out that the Toilets in all of them were also filthy, eventually she found a clean one,, and all seemed well till I took the throw off the Bed and found the Duvet Cover very crumpled and quite grubby, it obviously had'nt been changed since the previous Guests. Stressed out completely by then I decided just to remove the Cover and just sleep under the Duvet since I'd had enough hassle for what was meant to be an enjoyable Break. The Room also was absolutely freezing as it was quite a large Room with only a very small electric Convector Heater and the temperature outside was - 5. The Night Porter kindly gave us a Fan Heater from the Office, so I cannott fault the Staff in any way as they were most helpfull. Next Morning the Breakfast also had a very poor choice, no Yoghurts, Porridge, and the only Fresh Fruit was some Apples or Oranges, no Melon, or Strawberries etc. I only ate some Toast, and had an Orange Juice as the Cooked Breakfast looked awful, my Husband dared to try it, but said it tasted similar to how it looked. All in All I could NOT recommend this Hotel to others unless there were big changes made to the Food and Hygene in the future. The only thing it has going for it is it's Helpfull and Polite Staff on Reception.

Room Tip: Dont think there is one !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
10
20
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Booked last minute through Late rooms. Excellent hotel if a little unusual in its location. Located in a business/agricultural park with security barrier controlled entry. Lots of car parking, great speed wifi and its free, very quiet, room basic but very comfortable. TV a bit on the small side. Shower a bit weak. But these are minor really.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stoneleigh Park Lodge is a great option for those wanting to get away from hotels on busy roads given that it is on the Stoneleigh Park showground. This means plenty of space to walk in, easy of parking and fresh air. I use this hotel regularly for business trips.

The team are welcoming and helpful, both on reception and in the kitchen. The rooms are spacious, a nice option is a garden room. Recently the beds and bedding have been updated which means that not only do the rooms look fresher and the beds are far more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My son and I stayed at this hotel during an event in late January at the Stoneleigh Agricultural Centre because it was on site and convenient. Although the room was clean, the single beds were very narrow and uncomfortable. The thin bedclothes were insufficient and no extra blankets were supplied. It cost £80 for the room inc breakfast which was very overpriced when compared to other similar hotels. We were astounded at how awful the quality of the food was in the restaurant (ordered at the bar) when one bears in mind that this hotel is at the Agricultural Centre. My son's tiny 8oz steak (over £13) was tough as old boots and my little slices of pork (over £10) were curled up on a mountain of awful mashed potato. Even the vegetables were tasteless. The wine by the glass at the bar was served out of little individual bottles and overpriced. Someone commented to us at the Show the next day that the Boddington's beer on tap had a funny taste! The Agricultural Show owners really should do something to improve the quality of the food here which was deplorable. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good and served by a very helpful chap.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

As you might expect, this hotel sits in Stoneleigh Park, a venue for agricultural shows. I would suggest that being an attendee at such an event is the only real reason to consider this place. Though the rooms are big, they are rather dated. The beds are not comfortable, our bathroom door did not lock, and I have a bit of an issue with shower curtains over a screen. There was a power cut during our stay, which also put out the phone lines. I would have expected the staff to check on all guests given that there were only a dozen or so couples there. Still, £65 for a double room on the doorstep of the shows is probably worth it for sheer convenience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We also stayed here for the Trailblazers Championship, but out expectations obviously weren't as high as others on here..... Yes, it was hot, and there was no air conditioning, but i asked at reception for a fan and was given one promptly. Asked for extra pillows and was given them promptly.

The staff were brilliant, anything you asked they knew the answer, or they found it out really quickly. I think the thing to take on here is that this isnt a 5 Star Hotel - It's a 4 star Guest House - there is a big difference. The value is fine, you get what you pay for - it's just like a travel lodge really.

The food was fantastic, breakfast was fresh, not greasy and tasty - as for dinner, the menu was perfect, we ate here each night and was very nice.

All in all we really enjoyed ourselves, we really couldnt fault Stoneleigh at all, and i think others have been a bit harsh on them.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Returned from the Landrover 4x4 Max event and had a lovely stay in the lodge. Staff very friendly and helpful. Menu bit small but very nice......I can recommend the salmon!
Rooms very nice, we were on the ground floor with terrace with table and chairs.
Didn't realize you could take dogs (plural!) Not a problem for us, no noise!
Couldn't hear the music or anything from the Cancer midnight charity event that was also taking place.
Nothing to do there if there is no events taking place
The only problem I had is that I had paid for tickets to got to the Landrover event, when I need not have. If you stay in the Lodge you are right on site for any event taking place
Would definatly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoneleigh Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneleigh Park Lodge

Address: Stoneleigh Park | Near Coventry, Coventry CV8 2LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoneleigh Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Stoneleigh Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneleigh Park Hotel Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneleigh Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.