We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diabolical” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia - Coventry

Bella Italia - Coventry
4 Belgrade Plaza | Upper Well Street, Coventry CV1 4BF, England
02476 226811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 453 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Based in the swanky Belgrade Plaza development in Coventry, Bella Italia is a hot favourite for affordable Italian dining. This ultra swish residential and commercial development has become quite a destination within Coventry and Bella Italia boast a prime position. As for the menu, tuck into delicious salads such as the classic Caesar salad or the red pepper and vegetables topped pizza. Pasta dishes are excellent, particularly the Polpette Americano (beef and pork meatballs with a rich tomato sauce served atop a bed of spaghetti). Wash everything down with a glass of Italian red, rosé or white or perhaps a non alcoholic San Pellegrino (lemon and blood orange).
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diabolical”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went to this sham of a restaurant last night and it was the worst place I have ever been, arrived at 6 and didn't leave until 9 as the waiter had no interest in taking any orders whatsoever, we were shown to our table by the woman in charge pointed at our table rather than showing us to it and we were left for around 20 minutes before the menus arrived, the place was packed and others were leaving as they weren't getting served either, even a free bottle of wine couldn't tempt them to stay, if it wasn't for the club card vouchers we would have left and went elsewhere like everyone else, never again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    58
    45
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Good - even when busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited this restaurant tonight and was really worried about service when I arrived as it was so busy, 6pm on a Saturday evening. However, Very pleasantly surprised. Service was brilliant. Waiter very attentive. Menu very varied. Kids and Mum and Dad left very happy. Well done, a very good evening with very good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COVENTRY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

the food was nice enough, not the best italian food i have tasted. the staff were lovely and couldnt do enough for you. was very average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Distinctly average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This is not the place to go for a special night out. I suggest you get yourself down to greggs for a sice of their pizza bread instead - it will taste just as good. The food lacked seasoning and was very bland and looked bland. Everthing abour bella italia is bland. Can't understand why it's always so busy...all I can think is that people in coventry and birmingham aren't fussy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I am not fussy but this was terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I paid £16 for a sirloin steak (the smallest steak I've ever seen) with mash potato (which was fine), there was 2 mushrooms with the steak and a bit of lettuce. They made no effort to provide a decent meal. The calamari (two portions) I ordered for a starter was burnt, tiny and both portions were the most awful I've ever had. There was a hair under one of the pizzas also. It was absolutely ridiculous and horrible service and I'm never going there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia - Coventry also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Bella Italia - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia - Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.