We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent restaurant on the edge of Coventry City Centre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia - Coventry

Bella Italia - Coventry
4 Belgrade Plaza | Upper Well Street, Coventry CV1 4BF, England
02476 226811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 427 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Based in the swanky Belgrade Plaza development in Coventry, Bella Italia is a hot favourite for affordable Italian dining. This ultra swish residential and commercial development has become quite a destination within Coventry and Bella Italia boast a prime position. As for the menu, tuck into delicious salads such as the classic Caesar salad or the red pepper and vegetables topped pizza. Pasta dishes are excellent, particularly the Polpette Americano (beef and pork meatballs with a rich tomato sauce served atop a bed of spaghetti). Wash everything down with a glass of Italian red, rosé or white or perhaps a non alcoholic San Pellegrino (lemon and blood orange).
Carnforth
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant on the edge of Coventry City Centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just what you would expect from this restaurant chain. Close to the city centre, bus station an car parks this is a warm and friendly place to eat. Pasta and pizza through the menu , and as we had a vegetarian and a dairy free adult and child with us, the helpful waiter went the extra mile to ensure they were properly catered for. Plenty of space and warm on a freezing cold evening, this was an excellent visit. Well recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    42
    36
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Obliging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

In search of a late evening venue we came upon the Bella Italia and they were most accommodating and helpful. Full marks for food, service and atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went to Bella Italia last night for my partners birthday and it was lovely.

You definitely need to book, last night was very busy for a Thursday night and people were being turned away. I booked online, although I had to call anyway as we were taking our four month old and needed a table with space for a pram. True to their word we got a great table where the pram could fit by me, out of the way of customers/staff, still with space to be rocked.

It took about 15 minutes once seated for drinks/food orders to be taken but it was busy and they didnt seem to have many waiting staff (we counted three) but we were in no hurry. The man at the table next to us got lairy with the staff but you could see that they were running round like headless chickens, funnily enough they ordered before us but got their meals after us ;-)

Good food, I can't complain although as someone else said there was a lot of oil on our garlic bread pizza. Still good though! We both had pasta dishes and they were lovely, just the right amount and were not too heavy as sometimes the sauces can be.

I don't know why someone else mentioned the Asian waiter, seems completely irrelevant to me - just because its an Italian restaurant doesn't mean staff will be Italian; it's a chain not a family business!!

I would suggest signing up to their email subscription as you get regular offers coming through. We had one for buy one meal get one for £2.50 which we used last night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Italian Cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and my girlfriend visited here not long ago, we had a decent meal. Starters, main course and then pudding. The starters were average, but far too much oil was used. The mains were average for the price paid. The deserts were splendid, I really really enjoyed mine, I had the "Godfather Banana" terrific but once again expensive.

Overall a decent night out even if it was a bit pricey. Defo worth a visit on your travels!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A little more than I expected ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and 3 girlfriends booked for a 'girly' catch up on a Friday evening at 8.00

The restaurant was busy as you might expect in a city not particularly noted for its gastronomy. (I'm not knocking Coventry I'm a Coventry kid)

Service was quick and friendly, drinks arrived promptly and none of us had any complaints about the food. I had a lamb pasta dish which was very good.

The bill for 4 of us came to around £25 each - that included 2 bottles of wine, mains and a couple of puddings and a coffee. We thought that was good value given the quality of the food.

OK it's a big chain type place and you don't really expect anything very special but in fact, we really enjoyed our meal.

Thank you to the young and friendly staff!

Tip: this restaurant is right next to one of the safest car parks in the UK - something to consider when venturing out into the city centre at night, particularly if you're a lone female.

The 'girls' and I will go back happily.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia - Coventry also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Bella Italia - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia - Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.