We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Metropolis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel
Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Oasis in Metropolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our overnight stay. Drive upwas awful (oh the wonder of the M25). The weather around was still very icy and snowy and it felt like arriving in an old fashioned coach house hidden of e main thoroughfares. Staff were so helpful. The rooms surprisingly large and comfy. It was so quiet we had an excellent nights sleep. My first experience of a travel lodge and it was avert pleasant surprise, much better than I expected and real value for money. Gave us an excellent starting point to reach Warwick Uni.
Would recommend it to anyone. Shame opposite carvery don't do breakfast

Room Tip: Take a twin they were v good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
36
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The phrase - 'you get what you pay for' is appropriate for this hotel. On first glance the Room looked clean and tidy. However, the bathroom drains were unbearable at times and discouraged me from using the shower. UHT milk cartons were curdled and lumpy, After arriving back from my meal in the Toby restaurant nearby (was excellent) I peeled back the sheets to reveal very personal hair and 'bits' or crumbs in the bed. I tried to speak with the staff, but couldn't get hold of anyone. Lay on top instead. The mattress sounded like cockroaches chirping every time I turned over and the pillows were flat. Whilst the towels were clean, they must have been folded up or stored in an area were staff took their smoke break. As I had booked in for 2 nights, I decided to tackle the staff the following day. Lady arranged for the bed to be stripped and re-made and offered as much milk as I needed. The breakfast box was an expensive joke too. My only regret was to have booked there in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear GMB891,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After a terrible stay at a Travelodge in Watford, I was not looking forward to 2 nights in Coventry, however I was very happily surprised. The room was warm, clean and extremely comfortable. Plenty of facilities and a very good lay out. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the water pressure in the shower! It's a bit like someone spraying you with a water pistol! My only other comment would be that the hotel need to put seams on the doors to stop them from banging so loud.
Very pleasant stay though. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland. Co. Durham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The booking system once again worked like a dream and the reservation was made without any hitches whatsoever. The several Receptionists were helpful in the extreme and ready to provide extra items for the room on request. I had requested a room close to the entrance and that is exactly what I got. Why are these things worthy of comment? Well, perhaps because so many 'hotels' don't provide them without a fight. For quality accommodation, spotlessly clean rooms etc. at a decent price this hotel can't be beaten.
It is attached to a Toby Inn. However, the Carvery here, although very busy has an extremely limited menu once one decides to avoid the Carvery 'choice'. The Carvery menu never seems to change, ever. This can lead to perhaps a degree of boredom in selection. Other than that the food quality is quite reasonable for the price asked.
I am told by a colleague that his Travelodge 'breakfast bag' was well priced and adequate for the purpose. I can recommend this place. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Let them know what you need and they will try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for one night as I had a meeting the following day. The hotel is based in a suburban location and offers free parking as well as a Toby Carvery. Plenty of spaces in the car park, however a large number of the flood lights were broken meaning several dark areas. Room extremely basic, no shower gel/shampoo so remember to bring your own. Tesco a five minute drive away. Room appeared to have been refurbised quite recently as was clean. Room does appear to have been rewired at some point, yet instead of replacing the switches they have left twin switches next to the bed, with one switch doing nothing at all! Shame you could not seperately control the over bed light. Ask as reception if you want use of iron/ironing board. If you simply want somewhere to get your head down this is it.

I ordered the breakfast at the home which is brought to the room at a requested time. Despite the picture advertising it showing a lovely fresh croissant what you actually get it a long-life pain au choclat, cereal with long life milk, warm orange juice and a muffin that went straight in the bin. The sell-by date on the side, being a month after my stay, said it all. This was the worst breakfast I have ever had. Do yourself a favour and stock up at Tesco!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Evilempire13

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. If you would like to tell us more please visit the main Travelodge website and follow the contact us link.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Location is good and plenty of free parking on site. The room was not clean and even had chewing gum stuck to the carpet beside the bed. The fire safety arrangements left a lot to be desired and I reported same to the Fire and Rescue Services. Would not use again as even a complaint sent it was unanswered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Brenda675,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before the Olympic football event. Met by a lovely receptionist (and bump!) rooms basic but clean and comfortable.
Had breakfast at the Toby over the road which wasn't very nice but nothing to do with the hotel. Cost us £29 so we were more than happy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel

Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Coventry Binley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.