We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Coventry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel Coventry to your Saves list
Britannia Hotel Coventry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fairfax St | Cathedral Square, Coventry CV1 5RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent hotel, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I attended a weekend conference at this hotel, and I am very impressed.
The rooms were affordable and still had everything you could expect, with plenty of space.
The staff at the front desk and upstairs in the private bar were very helpful and friendly.
I was ill during my stay, and had a few slightly difficult requests, and I was impressed with the level of helpfulness of the staff who were happy to go out of their way to make sure I was looked after.

The only thing that was not excellent was the food service in the downstairs bar, which took a very very long time.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaCoventry, Sales & Events at Britannia Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our hotel.
It is always nice to hear such positive feedback.

If you are ever in the Coventry area again, please contact the sales office on 024 76633686 nad we will book you in at the best available rate.

Kind Regards

Stacey Bosworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    134
    175
    173
    336
See reviews for
93
247
71
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The exterior of this hotel is a 1960's building, it is right next to the cathedral, and you can see the public car ark from the front entrance.
Our concerns had been raised by the reviews here on trip advisor. I disagree with the tone and content of these reviews.
This is a budget priced hotel,with front desk and housekeeping staff who were happy to help and gave good service at all times.
The food was plentiful, well cooked and good value, a carvery queue of just a couple of minutes at the height of the lunchtime demand.
Rooms well tended and clean, beds firm.
Location very good to visit the cathedral.
Speak as you find, I was pleasantly surprised and would be pleased to go again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaCoventry, Sales & Events at Britannia Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our hotel.
It is very nice to hear such positive feedback.

If you are ever in the Coventry area again, please contact the Sales Team on 024 76633686 and we will book you in at the best available rate.

Kind Regards

Stacey Bosworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The exterior of the building looks really tired. The lobby on the other hand has a typical Brithish charm. The rooms are large but everything in them needs refurbishing as they are quite worn out. The room was clean but the matress was quite tired also and a bit on the soft side. It is strategically placed in the center of Coventry next to bus station and a ten minute walk from the railway station. However this means that there is a bit of road noise. The staff is very friendly. I had a problem with the plugs in my room which was quickly solved. For the price you pay its a very good choise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaCoventry, Sales & Events at Britannia Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for writing such a lovely review on our hotel.
It is always nice to hear such positve feedback.

If you are ever visiting Coventry again please contact the Sales Office on 024 76636686 and we will book you in at the best available rate.

King Regards

Stacey Bosworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Having lived in Coventry for 7 years and very recently moving away it felt weird having to pay and stay in a hotel there, so I wanted something cheap but clean and near the city centre. Our first choice the travel lodge was fully booked, so we chose the britannia instead, and I'm very happy we did.

Be warned the exterior of this hotel looks like they forgot to replace this building after the blitz, but inside it's much, much nicer and the staff are very welcoming and polite and helpful.

You get the impression that the hotel is a number of years (decades?) past it's glory days, but it still retains some of it's charm. The last few reviews surprise me as the 2 rooms I booked for my family were spot on. Very clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable.

For the money you pay here you will not get, not should you expect, the most modern room, with flat screen TVs and refurbished bathrooms. Having said that, everything worked as it should and everything seemed very clean.

The inclusive breakfast the next day was excellent. I was just sorry I was a bit hungover so I couldn't do more damage. The lack of staff was somewhat evident at the breakfast as the guy showing you to your table also had to run off and set up the table before running back to show you to your table. This inevitably caused a bit of a queue, but the poor lad was working as fast as he could and the wait wasn't more than a few minutes. Of course there were a few clowns who ignored the queue and just walked in but what do you expect from people from Leeds. That aside the quality of the breakfast was immense, and considering it was inclusive it made it all the better value!

The Cathedral is just around the corner, I have to correct a reviewer who said it's not as close as they thought, because you turn right out of the hotel then take the first right and the cathedral is on that street a bit further up. Well worth a visit for those who haven't been before.

Back to the hotel, I thought it went above and beyond the budget hotel I wanted, so when I stay in Coventry again (and have to pay) this is the only destination for me.

Room Tip: Budget hotel with a touch of nostalgic class
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaCoventry, Sales & Events at Britannia Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovelt review on our hotel.
It is always nice to hear such positive feedback.
If you are ever visiting Coventry again, please contact the sales office on 024 76633686 and we will book you in at the best available rate.

Kind Regards

Stacey Bosworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent staffs
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Having read some of the previous reviews I wondered if I had stayed in the same hotel.My wife and I were on a coach trip with Just go holidays and we spent 4 days at this hotel.There was absolutely nothing to complain about, the rooms were clean and quiet, the staff were friendly and efficient, the food was first class, and we and the 50 plus people on the coach all stated how much we enjoyed our stay, the reduced price bar was a very welcome bonus and all in all added to a very good value holiday.We will certainly be coming back to the Britannia Coventry at the first available opportunity! many thanks to all the staff, you all were excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Me and my partner decided we was going to stay here on a weekend when we arrived the loby looked lovely and clean. we booked a double room, And got 2 single beds, we were moved to a jaquzzi sweat where we had mouldy carpets and the smell was sickening!!!! we were then moved yet again to another sweat. when complaining about the matter it took them 7hrs and reminding phone call to get some answers about the mould in the bedroom! i would never advise or stay here again myself. its seedy and filthy!!!

Room Tip: mouldy, old fashioned, flaking wall paper, nothing nice or good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

When you arrive at this hotel you're immediately struck by the unappealing exterior of the hotel. It has the appearance of a 1960s council tower block. I saw several people on our coach praying that this wasn't the hotel we'd be staying in. The prayers didn't work. It does look a little better inside, with the reception, lounge and downstairs bar areas in good nick. We made our way up to our room and it was in reasonable, though dated condition. Bear in mind that if you're planning any romance you will likely be staying in a room with twin beds in this hotel, so some imagination and improvisation may be required. There is only the bear minimum of electrical sockets in the room and I had to ask for an extension lead as there were none near the beds.

The dining experience is very poor. The meals are at set times and the doors don't open until the staff are ready. This meant that we had to join a large crowd of hungry people at the bottom of the stairs outside the dining area. Other people were unable to get down the stairs because of this and were forced to either wait there until the diners gained access or return to their room. When we did gain access to the dining area we were directed to a large round table where some other guests were also seated. Enforced conversation ensued.

There was a choice of three starters. You don't order these - The waiter comes round the table and asks if anyone wants a particular dish. This means that you have to rely on the waiter spotting that your placing is empty, which doesn't always happen. For the main course you have to queue at a long table where your choice of main will be dished up by a member of staff. Although you are told when to approach this table you should expect to have to join a large queue. You also have to pour and fetch your own water, which often runs out. If you want an alcoholic drink will need to get it yourself from the downstairs bar as the bar adjoining the restaurant does not open until dinner has finished. There is a distinct feeling of being back at school.

The food itself is uniformly awful, particularly at breakfast. The bacon is congealed together to the extent that a spoon rather than a fish slice is provided at service so that you can scoop a mass of bacon on to your plate. The sausage is of the very cheapest variety, the egg is over-fried and the mushrooms and tomatoes are tinned. Although the staff have little to do really, it being mostly self-service, they invariably go out their business with a sullen expression. If asked a question their replies tend to be mono-syllabic.

The bar has its pluses and minuses. The prices are generally very good, but the bar staff don't seem to be sure what price to charge. We were quoted three different prices for a bottle of wine before a price was finally agreed upon. The bottled beer I was drinking was either £2.20 or £2.30 depending on whether the staff decided to enter the drink as Stella or not, (which it wasn't). The hotel runs a happy hour in the afternoon which attracts both residents and locals and seemingly our coach driver who seemed particularly eager to get back to the hotel early following a day trip.

The price to stay at the hotel is very reasonable but this isn't really an excuse for such shoddy service. The dining experience is badly organised, the staff under-equipped and the hotel in need of refurbishment. I don't intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaCoventry, Sales & Events at Britannia Hotel Coventry, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time write your review on our hotel, all feedback is appreciated whether it be positive or negative.

I am very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us.
With regards to the restaurant service, the restaurant team work very hard to deliver a good service, all coach tours times are allocated meal times prior to arrival to avoid any chaos such as queues and lack of seating, however on occasion the meal times are not adhered to and that is when we experience queues for the Carvery point.

It is never our intention that guest should leave the hotel unhappy and all Heads of Deaprtment are striving to improve standards in all of our outlets at all times.

Kind Regards
Stacey Bosworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Hotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Coventry

Address: Fairfax St | Cathedral Square, Coventry CV1 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.