We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you have an infant !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coventry Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Coventry Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rye Hill, Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you have an infant !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here in December, both before and after a week abroad. We arrived on a Friday evening at 7pm, i had e mailed the hotel to advise we would be arriving late and to advise them we would need a cot in the room. When we arrived check in was a bit awkward, we had paid in advance, however the staff were asking for full payment.... We got up to our room to find there was no cot in the room ! As i went to the car park for our baggage i asked the staff if they could check if the cot had been organised. The staff didn't seem to know anything about cots... they finally found one and brought one to the room 30 mins later !! there was no mattress or bedding! when i asked about this they advised us to use the extra blankets available for the adults ! luckily i had packed a sheet and blanket for our holiday! We eventually got the baby settled at 8.30 !!! The following morning i reminded the staff at reception that we would be returning a week later, and asked if they could have the cot available? We had arranged a transfer to Birmingham airport the folowing morning, all went well, we arranged with the driver to leave the car seat at the hotel to have ready for the pick up on our return. The holiday went well and we arrived back in the UK at 8pm. We contacted the hotel to advise we had arrived and they said the transfer would be on it's way.. 40 mins later it arrived.. they had forgotten the car seat and had to go back !!! we arrived at the hotel, no assistance was offered with the baggage, car seat pram...... such service !!! when we arrived at our room there was no cot !! again reception were unsure what to do !! a member of staff arrived 30 mins later and dumped the cot in the room, when we asked for assistance to put it up it was faulty !!! another cot was finally found and put up. Again there was no mattress provided, the staff member found some blankets and sheets for us.. which when we were about to put into the cot, were dirty and covered in hairs !!!!!!!! How they expected me to allow my baby to sleep in that situation defies me !! we searched through our baggage in the car and found our own bedding and finally settled the baby at 11 pm !!!! Not a happy customer !!!

Room Tip: Not the hotel for families !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    142
    194
    133
    232
See reviews for
104
239
50
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Upon arrival I thought it looked very dated. The reception staff were very helpful and put me on the top floor as requested. I was offered Breakfast at a discounted rate and this was delicious! Room was a little dated, and water slightly cold. But for £19 I couldn't argue. Parking was easy and free! Always a bonus. Ok for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrades are always available. Please ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

National holiday 2013, stayed for 3 nights on 5th December 2013. Arrived at hotel to find no hot, water room cold, this did not improve during our stay. The restaurant was so cold, The evening meal found soup was as cold as the room and the main meal what small amount you got was of poor standards. The veg had been frozen and was so bad the sprouts when cut in half were brown in the middle. Breakfast scrambled egg looked as if it was powdered, and did not like the look of the rest so just had toast. Told them at reception about the cold room and the lack of hot water, driver even told National holidays about hotel. We have e mailed head office and the hotel, sent letter to head office about our stay but they have not replied. We have stayed at this hotel a few years ago and that time found it very nice, would not stay at this hotel again. Very annoyed that they can not reply to e mails or a letter,

Room Tip: I don't think you could find a good room, people on our coach was on different floors and all ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Looks like a multi story car park! Food awful, bar staff rude expected us to use dirty glasses as dish washer had been broken for 6 months!! Muttered under his breath when I asked for clean ones! Actually ended up cleaning them ourselves! Electricity shorted out in our room had no power for around an hour as we were getting ready to go for the evening meal. No apology nothing. Only one towel, in a room for 3 people, and what should have been a twin room was actually a double bed with a fold out chair bed! Great if your a child not at 40 something! Never again

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

When I found out I'd be staying here I wasn't very happy at all as I'd read lots of bad reviews but a was very surprised, we travelled with national holidays. When we approached the hotel it looked glum and miserable, when we walked in it was totally different, our room was lovely considering how bad some people say theirs are. Meals was nice. Only thing I would complain about is lack of seating in the bar area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just had a New Year break at the Coventry Hill Hotel with Travel Style and had a brilliant time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, alright thre were parts of the hotel a bit tired but on the whole it was fine, bedroom was big and airy and plenty of storage. Food was great even on the day that there was only my husband an I in (others on coach trip) they laid on a full lunch. The entertainment was fine but as always on these trips the last night was a disapointment. On the whole a very good break, thank you travel style and Coventry Hill staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have stop in a lot off Britannia hotel on coach trips but this was the worst hotel ever. We had a 3 night over the new year I know I am not the qreen but a clean room would have been nice and a winter douvet and hot water

Room Tip: Never again
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Address: Rye Hill, Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.