We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coventry Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coventry Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Coventry Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rye Hill, Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Ellesmere, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a room only deal. We arrived behind a coach party but check-in was very quick, efficient and friendly. The room was clean and bright and had everything we needed. This hotel was great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    142
    194
    133
    232
See reviews for
104
239
50
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Myself, my fiancé and our 16 month old son stayed here for two nights as it was within good access of Thomas Land ann Cadbury World.

We've stayed in other Britania hotels in the past as they are great value for money.

We paid £70 for 2 night for b&b and that was for all 3 of us.

Ok , so the hotel isn't shiny and new and the decor is dated but for £35 a night can you really complain?

The coffee and tea facilities were stocked full each morning and also the toiletries. There is a complimentary news paper each day which is the Independant.

The staff were friendly enough and always on hand if needed.

I'd stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Visited here with National holidays 'Warwick Castle and Cotswolds Superdeal'. Not the cleanest of hotels,- but bedding was fresh, and double bed extremely comfy. Kettle/tea/coffee etc in room, also hairdryer, trouser press, and T.V .Allocated sitting times for meals, which avoided long queues, for delicious, hot, plentiful breakfasts and evening meals with complimentary tea and coffee available during and after meals.. Believe bar is only open on evening, but £2 happy hour is available from 7-9pm for certain cider/wine/lager/beer.Entertainment most evenings. Believe 1 pub is near to hotel, and a garage is located nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We get online offers from Britannia and they've always been excellent value so long you're happy to book about a month in advance with an upfront, online, non-refundable payment. We go for the Bed, Breakfast & Dinner deal with a free bottle of wine. We asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel (not over the main A45 road) and the receptionist was very pleasant and obliging. The room was in good condition, clean carpet, very clean bathroom with toiletries, tissues, trouser press, tea & coffee making facility with biscuits, and an oldish but respectable television. Couldn't ask for anything more, yet we also got a good view over Coventry and countryside as we were on the 7th floor. We could also open the window to let in some fresh air as it was summertime so we had a pleasant and quiet 2-night stay even though there were two or three coaches of guests staying each night. The dining area was quite large that catered for the coach tours really well. The meals were on a buffet, help-yourself basis except for the starter, which was served at the table. The food was not exceptional but it was well-cooked and plenty of it. The trick is to get to the dining room either well before or just after the coach parties have finished otherwise you end up queing for everything. The dining staff worked hard and were very pleasant. Only on one of the breakfasts did they struggle a bit to keep up with the high demand when two coach parties came down at the same time. Although there were young girls working in the breakfast room (and some seemed a bit inexperienced) they still managed and kept smiling. They did their best so I commended them. You could get better hotels, true - but, believe me, you could get a lot worse. For their online deal it is good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as these don't overlook the main A45 road and are likely to be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A National Holiday 4 day break - no complaints but a stock cube in the gravy would make all the difference! Hearty breakfast, 3 course dinner and a happy hour at the bar 7-9 (drinks £2) . Laptop couldn't pick up free wifi but wife's tablet could? If you want the Ritz pay for it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our room had wallpaper hanging of the walls, the bath had a chunk out of it which was rusted, and would not use it, the walls were also stained and the pillow on my bed was bloodstained, The carpets at the lift were badly stained, also our room carpet must have had a dog in it before it as our socks and slippers were full of dog hair.the windows were filthy, and curtains hanging off the track, The chefs were excellent, and the full english breakfast was a treat being able to pick what you liked to eat. the building was like an old run down block of flats, it was derelict looking from the outside and inside was awful

Room Tip: room was on the fourth and far too hot, we opened window but couldnt for noise of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels over the years for holidays and business. What can I say about this hotel nothing much one word sums it up HORRENDOUS!
Very dated hotel, wallpaper peeling of walls all over the hotel very shabby hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coventry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Hill Hotel

Address: Rye Hill, Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coventry Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coventry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coventry Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.