We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greyhound Inn

Greyhound Inn
Sutton Stop, Longford, Coventry, Coventry CV6 6DF, England
02476 363046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 402 restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Recently visited the greyhound, there was 10 of us for a work meal a lunch time. The service was excellent and the food was great. The potion sizes were large and it was really good that you could mix and match from the normal menu and the Christmas menu. Throughly enjoyed by everyone around the table and reasonably priced too would definatley recommend and return again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    100
    49
    5
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I wish it was near me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a superb pub in a great location with some really talented cooking on display. We eat upstairs in a small dining room overlooking the canal basin and it was faultless,all served to eight of us piping hot and delicious washed down with a wonderful selection of beers. All eight of us had 2 courses and drinks and the bill came to £20 more than two of us paid for fine dining sic in Birmingham the previous evening.Congratulations to the management and staff this is how to run a pub restaurant and thank you for a great afternoon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's all a bit...'Local'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a very popular place...for locals! It's ideal for the summer as it's on the canal with outside seating and lots of ducks and swans to entertain you. In the winter it's got the whole cosy open fire appeal. They also win best pub awards year after year so they're definitely doing great things with their food and drink.

But, every visit I've made there has been an uncomfortable one. There's rarely any seats, always long waits at the bar and for food. I could live with that, price of being popular, but it is the most unfriendly pub I've ever visited.

The clientele seem very close knit...very League of Gentlemen which is really off-putting. Who wants to sit in a pub being stared at and whispered about? It's just plain creepy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not the poshest, but certainly one of the best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is simply a great pub in an interesting spot, serving good beers and food. It has a very convivial, 'lived in' atmosphere and deserves to be successful. The two men that run it understand they are custodians of something special and maintain it as such. The staff buy into that and add to the experience.

The only moan: They have said that the gent's loos would be sorted in October (2013), but to date nothing has been done. Hence the 4/5 rating. It's still a damn fine pub-restaurant, though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeighCoventry, Owner at Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi, very many thanks for your kind review, we're delighted that you enjoy your visits to us and that you appreciate what we are hoping to achieve here. We were hoping to have started the toilets by now but are a bit caught in the mire of planning applications and permissions from the building landlord, however, we have had our first visit now from the planning consultant with drawings being prepared to see what we can (or can't do) and then once we have the necessary approvals from planning we are hoping the landlord will agree. in the meantime we obviously endeavour to ensure that like the rest of the old building we keep everything as clean as possible. realistically though I don't see us getting the paperwork sorted anytime soon so to set the expectation I would hope that we would see work starting by end of February which should see us completed in time for the spring season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Excellent Pub Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Set beside a junction of two canals, this is an excellent pub with lovely beer and very good food.
It was not the cheapest pub meal but the quality was very good and the menu was quite varied.
They had really nice beers and the beer quality was also excellent. The roaring log fires were welcoming and the place had a really nice and friendly feel about it.
If you want good quality but unprententious food then I would recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greyhound Inn also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.