We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hospitality and charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Ansty Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Ansty Hall to your Saves list
Macdonald Ansty Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hospitality and charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed here many nights over many weeks and have had a good expereince every time.
All of the staff have excellent customer service skills and make you feel welcome - but special commendation must go to the breakfast ladies who start your day with a laugh and smile combined with a fresh cooked to order, superb quality breakfast.
Easy to get to off the motorway but set in countryside with lovely views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    179
    61
    25
    11
See reviews for
94
229
12
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Stanton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was the 3rd time my wife and i have stayed at Ansty Hall and once again we were treated to an excellent evening meal and breakfast. The food is of a very high quality, and the eloquent surroundings add to the fine dining experience.
The rooms are of a good standard, however after paying extra for a feature room, this was the most basic room we have had during our 3 stays. I am not quite sure what differentiates a standard room from a feature room but on the last 2 occasions we have had a huge room with a massive feature bathroom. On this occasion we were allocated a much smaller room with a basic bathroom.
The staff are very friendly and attentive, and nothing is too much trouble for them.
I would once again recommend this hotel to fellow travellers, as it is set in lovely grounds and the food is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
689 reviews 689 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Been here today for customer business conference.

Room was a little compact for 100+ but at least a/c seemed effective.

Constant supply of that and coffee

I've had better mass catered lunches but I've had far worse

Ive had 2 rotten experiences at other MacDonald hotels in recent times but this was good overall

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at the hotel as part of a two day conference and had a very enjoyable experience. The rooms were clean, spacious and equipped with all the things you would expect from a good hotel. The meals we had were excellent and the staff were very attentive making sure there was plenty of tea and coffee to keep us going. The only moan I have was with the bar prices which seemed a little on the high side, other than that I would gladly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house if you don't want to go outside when going for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned home after a few days/nights at this lovely Ansty Hall Hotel, the breakfast is very good, as are all theMacDonald hotels. But best of all was the MOST comfortable nights sleep we have had a any of the MacDonald Hotels, Staff as usual are excellent. Thank You Ansty Hall we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Last minute booking met all our needs. Had just checked out of Marriott Forest of Arden as it was too busy with 2 weddings, quite impersonal and poor service. Found this hotel by accident and will definitely return.
Walked into reception to find a wedding party and our hearts sank expecting a similar experience. However, Mohammed on reception immediately put our minds at rest. We had booked an executive room that morning online. However, knowing we were not part of the wedding party they had already upgraded us to a feature room at the front of the hotel, furthest from any possible noise. He also assured us that we were just as welcome to the hotel as the wedding party.
We sat outside in the peaceful grounds for a great lunch - we didn't have to move from there as they regularly came to us to see if we needed anything else. We came for a peaceful relaxing weekend and got it. Dinner was wonderful and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Difficult to fault the place and staff.
Will definitely return and even use for business meetings.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We'd booked 4 rooms for Saturday 1st Sept as a treat for my Mum's 70th birtthday, and then were having a pre-organised big family lunch (arranged via the Banqueting manager) on the next day. Although we'd paid for 2 executive rooms and 2 doubles, only when we were all checked in did we realise we'd been allocated 1 exec and 3 ordinary doubles, and we had to point this out to reception. We decided to leave our rooms as they were, and proceeded to go to the bar prior to having dinner in the Shilton restaurant. We got some pre dinner drinks at the bar and were horrified to be charged £8 for a (not very large) glass of wine, and £5 for a standard bottle of magners! The meal was "so-so" and there was a distinct lack of waiting staff. Service was very slow, and I felt I had to constantly prompt the waitress to serve us. Our food was also very slow indeed and when the mains finally arrived, my poor brother's order hadn't even been passed onto the kitchen and he had to watch us eat for another 10mins. Even though the waitress apologised profusely, it was embarrassing and NOT the relaxing experience I'd expected or hoped for. The quality of the meals was also variable, though my ravioli was lovely. The next day, we had out pre-arranged big family meal, and this went far more smoothly, but again, when we all went through to the room, I had to let the waitress know there should have been wine on the tables. The whole weekend, I felt I had to chivvy things along, and the lack of staff made everything rather slow and uncertain. Basically, there needs to be more staff, and better organisation generally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Ansty Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#7 Business Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Ansty Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.