We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue for a business event” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coombe Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Coombe Abbey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brinklow Rd | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a business event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at the Coombe Abbey for 2 nights during a business event with a group of approx. 25 persons.
The room (mine was no. 209) was absolutely lovely with the four poster bed and all practical nice details (TV hidden inside a cupboard, tea cooker and pot in a seperate little cupboard). It was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. The only points that disturbed me a bit were the lights and the hairdryer. The light in the room and also in the bathroom was not very bright so it makes it a bit difficult if you are looking for something in your suitcase or also when putting on make-up. The hairdryer could only be used in a plug where there was no mirror and the cable was quite short so it was not very comfortable. However, for these 2 days I did not mind too much.
We had booked a big room for our business event. Unfortunately, the heating did not work properly and we had to talk several times to the hotel staff to get a heating. At the end it was ok, though.
We took part in the medieval banquet and had great fun. It was a perfect way to end the day.
I would have loved to have more time to explore the Abbey more in detail. For our business event it was really the perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    316
    153
    67
    57
See reviews for
170
707
16
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having chosen a themed room, we knew we'd be staying somewhere fairly regal but we were blown away by the opulance and detail of the very spacious room. That said, it became a little tricky to get ready in the evening due to the very poor lighting. Yes, the mood lighting was fitting and created a great ambience but it also meant I was putting mascara in my eyebrow!!
The bar during the day was a little hectic but provided some entertainment and the staff managed very well with the crowds.
The crowning glory was the fantastic evening meal and blow your mind wine (though not cheap)! The waiters knew their stuff and we were not disappointed at all. Following a meal you can unwind in the bar or like us, hit the disco in the medieval area and dance off the cheesecake!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just returned from an early valentines night away and it was lovely at Coombe Abbey. The room was great, with an amazing corner bath in the room. Dinner in the Garden Room was fantastic and reasonably priced. Finished with an excellent breakfast and a bracing walk on Sunday morning in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A former monastery with very Gothic design influences has been tastefully converted into a "no ordinary hotel". Very pleasant staff make this a unusually nice "themed" place to stay. Although appearing to cater for the Wedding and Corporate market - which it looks like the hotel does very well - those activities didn't interfere with our romantic "away for two" nights stay.
The bed chambers are tastefully and appropriately styled. My only gripe would be that our two twin beds were each only 2 ft 6 ins wide, it would have been more appropriate to have 3ft beds.
Food in the restaurant was good, both at breakfast and dinner, although you many think the Table d'Hotel menu, at £34.50, was a tad overpriced if you were paying for it as a stand alone item. Recommendation would be to look for inclusive DB&B deals, which probably offer much better value for money that booking individual elements separately.
The hotel is on the outskirts of Coventry/Rugby in the very pleasant grounds of Coombe Abbey Country Park, which has a good children adventure playground and large lake with fishing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

we have just had the best day of our lives at Coombe Abbey. our coordinator Joanne ensured a seamless service so that our day went exactly to plan. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and all went out of their way to provide the best service and went over and above their roles to make sure we were happy and our needs catered for. We chose the medieval banquet with an out of this world show - all of the guests said it was the best wedding they had ever attended!! We stayed in the Lady Craven Room which truly put the icing on the cake. i cannot fault any aspect of the service, care and attention lavished upon us and our guests. the prices were highly competitive with other wedding providers but with the exceptional service made it wonderful value. i would challenge any hotel to do better

Room Tip: even the 'standard' rooms are excellent. the Lady Craven Room is out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just got back from a 1 night stay to celebrate a friend's birthday.

On arrival, we checked in and were allocated a beautiful, spacious room in the new part of the hotel (room 78) with a fabulous 4 poster bed which was so comfortable. Initially I had some slight concerns regarding the location of the room - it was right next to the entrance to the newer part so I wondered if we might be disturbed by people coming and going to their rooms. However, I can honestly say that we didn't hear a thing.

We whiled away a couple of hours in a cosy spot near Reception whilst partaking in a couple of drinks from the bar. The setting was lovely and you really felt that you were somewhere special.

We had a booking in the restaurant for dinner. They were obviously busy, with most tables occupied, yet you wouldn't have known it from the level of service we received. Staff were attentive, and really made you feel that nothing was too much trouble, despite me requesting that my meal was served with completely different sides to those specified. The food was delicious, and is obviously made from quality ingredients.

Breakfast was equally as good in terms of the food quality and the service received. In fact, I'd even go as far as to say that it was the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel.

The one thing that really sets this hotel apart from others is the level of service and professionalism you receive from every single member of staff you encounter. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Though we were one of a few lunch time guests we were treated to a genuinely impressive three course meal in stunning surroundings. The key elements, however, are the venue - a former Abbey resplendent with suitable décor and staff who were friendly, helpful and courteous. This is a rather special place - we wil return in the Summer to enjoy the gardens more fully. The staff actually smile with confidence and engage with guests - remarkable really!

Room Tip: Book for lunch and be aware that they regularly have 100 guests for their superb afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Address: Brinklow Rd | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#2 Business Hotel in Coventry
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombe Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.