We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coombe Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Coombe Abbey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brinklow Rd | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Although we did not stay at the hotel, our experience was for afternoon tea which was amazing. Highly recommend. The service was second to none and the quality of the tea was mouth watering. Of course it comes with a price but well worth the money. I would not hesitate of booking with the hotel again for that special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    318
    154
    67
    57
See reviews for
172
708
16
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Coombe Abbey is a very unusual hotel. I have never been in a hotel before where you are surrounded by the history of the original abbey.
It was dark in most areas and whilst this was strange to start with, you get used to it, it's the style.
It was a wonderful break from the daily work and we were able to escape completely.
It was expensive. We bought a discounted voucher from group on. With this we stayed two nights and had breakfast and evening meal both nights. We paid to upgrade to a feature room as we wanted a bigger room. Had a newspaper and the total,cost for the two days came to £430
Worth it I guess for a treat.
The standard room was fine if you aren't planning on spending time sitting around room reading, chilling etc. all the rooms were lovely, we looked at three.
Reception and restaurant staff friendly and helpful.
We missed afternoon tea by ten minutes but the lady said we could order tea and biscuits from the bar and they would bring it to the terrace ( we wanted to sit on the west wing overlooking the garden)
They brought us tea out and set up a parasol etc, very personal service.
I agree with a previous reviewer, there isn't a central place to sit after eating etc, however the attraction is going into the hotel and finding a nook somewhere to sit.i liked this.
The rooms could have been cleaner around the edges, particularly the bathrooms and I would prefer a duvet to a blanket. They weren't dirty just not 'polished' which is what you expect when paying the prices.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful.
Woods
Lake
Formal flower garden, ornamental trees, even some redwoods!
Patios
Meadows
You could walk for hours, it was absolutely beautiful.
Food was nice, expensive but worth not having to go out. We had the set menu which was £34 each. Wine prices were reasonable. The restaurant gets booked it by nn residents and they keep tables for residents. I was there when someone got turned away as they were full, and I was then able to book for the evening, so it's good they acknowledge residents first.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and thought it was beautiful. In fact I am going back for new year but hoping as its a event the quality won't be reduced because its mass catering or anything. We had no queues and I wouldn't expect any paying those prices.
I don't think it's a hotel for children.
Would love it to have a swimming pool on site.

Room Tip: Look at the website but check prices, very varied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The initial view of this property as you enter the driveway is stunning and you won't be disappointed when you get inside. Keeping its character as an old country house/castle - including a moat - the property is beautiful. Staff are friendly, the room cleaning was done whilst I was at breakfast and didn't interfere with my time/schedule at all. Gardens are perfect for a late afternoon stroll before dinner and then a drink in the bar. My only complaint would be that the queen-sized bed was actually two single pushed together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked this hotel for my husbands 30th - the hotel is very quirky in its decor and the building itself is stunning! We had three rooms booked - two standards and a feature room. Both room types were great, we booked one feature room because we have a baby and we were advised the standard rooms probably wouldn't be big enough for a cot - we were a little miffed to find that the standard rooms were bigger than our feature room! Also the standard rooms had air con where as our feature room didn't. I think the reason why we were advised to go for a feature room is that the standard rooms vary in size and maybe our other guests were just lucky to get very large standards? - Maybe because they were in the newish building separate to the main hall whereas we were in the main hall? The feature room was beautiful so we didnt really mind - with a huge four poster bed and a very nice bathroom. The hotel had left us a very nice bottle of wine as a present for celebrating my husbands birthday which was a great touch and much appreciated plus the welcome note hand delivered by a porter was a nice thought!

We dined at the restaurant which was very nice, five of us dined from the 3 course menu and we all loved what we received, one of us went ala carte because they wanted a good steak and although it was nice we were a little disappointed that it was a fairly thin steak and it was a little over cooked - so considering the alacarte is allot dearer our advice would be to stick to the set menu which was faultless.

The only real disappointment was that the hotel recommended babysitter dropped out at the last minute. This couldn't be helped as the babysitter had family commitments but I did feel that the front desk could maybe have helped a little more - they wanted to phone her and force her to come which we weren't comfortable with as her child was sick! We offered to take our child into the restaurant as long as we could get a quiet table with space for a buggy so he could sleep which they said was fine but there was no communication with the restaurant who weren't prepared - and we ended up with a table right in the middle of the restaurant - not a major deal but it could have been smoother so that we felt as comfortable as possible with the situation.

Breakfast in the morning was fabulous and we were given our own little room adjacent to the main restaurant which was great! The gardens are stunning for a walk in the morning too. There is access to a gym and pool although not on site.

Room Tip: If you want air con ask for the newer building, if you want the true character of the building ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the Princess Suite . Sumptuous room steeped in history with all the modern touches . Interesting stairway to the bathroom with rolltop bath and shower ( there is no door incidentally ). Excellent views of the moat . Unfortunately the Wifi was poor in the room though ( almost non existent ) . I put it down to the 2 foot thick walls but nevertheless if it's advertised then you should be able to get it ( using my IPad ) .

The ambience of the whole place is tranquil if a little dark ( that justs adds to the atmosphere though) . The grounds are excellent and walking through them on a sunny evening is a must . Breakfast was excellent and the service attentive .

Travelled into Birmingham and followed advice of guy at reception . Great advice to drive into Coventry and take the train directly to New Street ( Bullring ) . Only cost £10 return for two on Monday 30th July . I was planning to drive but sought advice because of roadworks .

Room Tip: If you need Wifi don't stay in room 2 ( princess Suite )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked in advance for a big birthday treat. I'm going to give an honest review of the hotel and room based on what I expected from reading reviews, viewing their website and the high expectations I had due to the cost of room per night (£395!) based on similarly priced hotels that I have stayed in.

First impressions, lovely main building with moat and lovely grounds adjaent to park - lots of wildlife - great for photos. However, very dark in the lobby areas once you enter the hotel (even during the day) - it was even dark in the entrance to our new block, so much so that my husband and i both tripped twice coming inside.

We stayed in the Nesfield Suite which although it's made to look old it is in a brand new block behind the main building and right opposite the wedding hall. It was a quirky room with slipper bath and wet room with combined sauna/steam room up some spiral stairs on a mezzanine. There was no full length mirror in room so you couldn't check out your outfit before going down to dinner. Also, the wardrobe was lovely looking but not practical as you can't hang a dress in it without folding it over - the wardrobe is not tall enough. There is no in room fridge but there are tea/coffee making facilities. They could do with a basin upstairs in the "bathroom" as you had to go back downstairs to wash your hands after applying makeup/hair products - not well designed. The basin in the toilet area downstairs is not big enough to share with another person, there's nowhere to put your toothbrushes & paste.

There are candlestick holders on raised the platform in the room but they have no candles - all the room's features are there for aesthetics and not practicality.

We'd booked the romance package and there were lovely flowers & chocolates in the room on arrival however, we had to ring down for the champagne and remind them to deliver it (for the cost of our stay I would have preferred a more personal touch upon checking in, asking when we would like it delivered to our room) - however, when it came it was delivered in an ice bucket & was perfectly chilled.

The staff are friendly & welcoming.

Our room wasnt ready on arrival (at 2.30pm) so we moved to the bar & were told someone would bring our key shortly - by 3.15pm no one had come so we went back to reception and had to wait another 10 minutes. When we entered our room there was a dead fly on windowsill and cobwebs on the candlesticks. I don't expect that in a room costing nearly £400 per night!

We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights as part of our romancing package and the food was excellent; some of the staff are very young and inexperienced but all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant manager was very good and attended to us well throughout the evening.

There is nowhere to go after dinner as the bar area is really small and not particularly intimate. There are lots of seating areas around the lobby where you can sit with a drink but the seats aren't that comfy and there's a constant stream of people back and forth through the corridors and it doesn't feel that special.

This hotel costs roughly the same as a room at Cliveden - Cliveden dots all the i's and crosses the t's and you feel like royalty from the minute you arrive - Coombe Abbey may look the part from outside but on the inside it's like a weird Disney-esque version of "medieval" and on closer inspection the attention to detail and personal service is just not there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for business, the whole team and everyone loved it. The rooms are all unique and have character. The beds were high and comfortable, the breakast was super and the service was really good too. The bar was open till late and the surroundings peaceful. We are already booking to go back for our next meeting and xmas dinner!

Room Tip: All our rooms were different and unique!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Address: Brinklow Rd | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#2 Business Hotel in Coventry
#7 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombe Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.