We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coombe Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Coombe Abbey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brinklow Rd | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was very pleasant to walk in the Coombe Abbey Park and then retire to the hotel for afternoon tea in the Garden restaurant. The tea was traditional, served in a large conservatory and we very able to introduce overseas friend to a proper English cream tea

Room Tip: If you book in advance you can park for free in the hotel car park. While entrance to the Park is fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    344
    165
    72
    60
See reviews for
180
772
16
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Superb afternoon tea, plenty of sandwiches, tea, scones and cakes!
We had not booked, but the very helpful restaurant manager found us a table in the bar area as they were fully booked.
The Rocky Road was heavenly!
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night, definitely will go again. Without a doubt it has the wow factor. Only down side for us was walking from the annex to the main building as it was a chilly evening and I was wearing a summer dress. If I had known about this I would have ask to have a room in the main hotel. All the staff were great the food was good and the grounds are amazing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went to stay at Coombe Abbey as part of a hen weekend to attend the Medieval Banquet. The grounds are amazing and well kept and the drive to the hotel gives the impression of the splendour that awaits. Wow - how magnificent is this place!! The owners have the décor and furnishings tasteful, and in keeping with the nature of the building. Staff were polite and helpful when needed, nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and the bathroom and shower were I would say the best I have experienced. The Medieval Banquet was very enjoyable and then the disco afterwards was good. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. In summary you get what you pay for - and while it is not cheap to stay here it is well worth the cost. Can not wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Stunning, lovely staff, beautiful room and to top it off we booked the Medieval banquet. At first the drink sizes and food portions seemed small. But they were not by the end of the evening we'd had a lovely tasting meal, some lovely Mead and red wine. I was full up and the entertainment was brilliant. Nice adult humor, brilliant singing everyone by the end was up singing. Will be returning this year again, possibly just to enjoy the hotel but might go for the Haunted Halloween Banquet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights; one in an ultra posh room for our first anniversary and one in a "normal" room, for a medieval banquet night, which was still phenomenal. All the staff were polite, friendly and professional, from the friendly and helpful restaurant maître de right down to the cleaner we bumped into on our departure morning who apologised for the guest who had decided to have a smoke in one of the rooms and stink up the hallway. Yes, it's pricey, but my goodness we got value from it.

The medieval banquet was delicious and entertaining and the food in the restaurant was phenomenal.

I'm given to understand (my wife's family are local to the hotel, although I stress we have no personal connection to the hotel itself) that there was a recent change in management, so I hope that the previous reviews which were less than complimentary are now no longer valid as they are completely unrepresentative of the excellent service and experience we had. No, it's not cheap, but we knew that when we booked. I'm not sure how people missed that.

Room Tip: If you're booking an ultra-posh room, take some stuff to do and stay in there to get best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

(This review is mainly about the excellent babysitter, Fay, provided through the hotel.)

My husband, our 2 boys (aged 1.5 and 3.5) and I stayed 2 nights at Coombe Abbey for my sister-in-law's wedding. I had originally arranged a babysitter (Fay) through the hotel for the evening of the wedding, but my father-in-law wanted a family meal for the night before so I got Fay to come that evening too.

Fay was wonderful with the boys, really able to relate to them at their level and was clearly a "kiddie" person (she has a 5-year-old boy of her own). She was so good with them the first night (and my 3-year-old gave me such a favourable report) that on the second night I was comfortable enough with her to simply hand the boys over to her for bathing and putting to bed, meaning I was only away from the wedding breakfast for 10 minutes or so. I would totally recommend Fay as a babysitter if you want to have some "grown-up" time when staying at Coombe Abbey.

Regarding the rest of our stay at the hotel, in short the hotel building, rooms and surroundings were wonderful and atmospheric but my overall feeling was that it was all a bit disorganised and badly managed. However the buffet breakfast offered a very extensive selection worthy of a mention.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Address: Brinklow Rd | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#2 Business Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombe Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.