We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic hotel to get your head down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Coventry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Coventry to your Saves list
Novotel Coventry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilsons Lane | Longford, M6 Junction 3, Coventry CV6 6HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A basic hotel to get your head down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here as part of a package with National Holidays to Thomasland/Twycross Zoo. Check in was very busy but efficient and we were given a room on the 3rd floor. The room was a good size with a double and a made up pull out sofa bed, and an excellent modern bathroom. The room had a decent sized flat screen tv, iron & board, hairdryer and a decent selection of tea and coffee. The evening meal was booked for us at 7.30 which was quite late considering most of us had young children with us. We got a choice of 3 starters and then it was a buffet style meal with pasta, lasagne, or roast pork with potatoes and veg, there was chicken nuggets and fries for the kids. Dessert was a choice of 3. The food quality wasn't that good but people were hungry and in a rush to get the kids to bed. I had a fairly good night's sleep and no noise was heard. Again breakfast the morning was too late 8.30 but with the clocks going back that meant it was 9.30 beforewe got sat down hence very hungry children and parents. Checkout was very efficient. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly and we had no problems. A good no frills hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

In regards to timings of meals etc, Unfortunately these are not down to us but of the tour operators and we abide them to ensure the coaches leave on time for there next destinations.

I am happy you were happy with your room and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Coventry in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    98
    52
    25
    13
See reviews for
60
58
15
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a wedding for some close friends and can only say the lack of leadership was clear the meal and event was great but bar staff and especially reception have no idea and to be woken by can only be described as someone kick the door next door at half 4 was a joke and we were not the only ones and no one cared got very concerned at reception as when we went to pay they took the card and we didn't have to put our pin number in and we were not the only ones with this issue or others training staff would be good but staff that worked the wedding meal were great

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed attending the function at the hotel but disappointed about the concerns raised.

Should you wish to contact me regarding the payment then please do so on 02476365000

Kind Regards
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

First impressions when entering the room was I had walked into artex hell!!! Walls and ceiling are all stippled artex effect- very odd.
However it was very clean and had all the amenities I needed. Bed very comfortable and had a good nights sleep.
Positives- a good price at about £68 and included breakfast.
Downsides- you have to pay for parking and room service arrived barely warm

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us your feedback.

We will be sharing your feedback with all departments regarding cleanliness and price as this positive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all the staff here at Novotel.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here as part of a National holiday tour. had to pay extra for a single room but when arrived both rooms were the same, 1 double bed and a bed settee, food not the greatest strange combination on carvery, Pork roast Lasagne and risotto then the usual vegetables. Staff worked hard and all very polite and smart. would not book to stay here if travelling independently. We had a good night as we went to the Grosvenor Casino at Coventry City ground. what a welcome quick membership sign up fantastic live group great atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

All our rooms consist of a double bed and a sofa bed but when travelling in a group the costs reflect a single supplement as per the booking agent to try fill the rooms.

We try to offer a variety on our buffet's so we give all our guests a choice and leave everybody satisfied.

I am glad you had chance to visit one of our local attractions and hopefully this may entice you to return to Coventry.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a nice room for 3 of us and were part of a national holidays tour. The beds were comfy and we were not disturbed during the night. The breakfast and dinner were adequate. Overall the hotel catered for our needs..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your stay here at Novotel Coventry.

It is always nice to read your feedback and pass this on to my team which i will do.

we hope to see you here again.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This budget hotel is functional and clean. Basic rooms, comfortable and no frills but, what is worthy of note is the staff.

Front desk, bar, restaurant, breakfast,room service - all excellent, a really strong team. Usually you have one or two star members of staff but this is where this hotel sets itself apart and needs to be commended. What is lacks in facilities it makes up for in service. Much more expensive hotels would benefit from sending their staff there to learn about customer service. Well done to the team.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and leave us such lovely comments.

At Novotel we pride ourselves on our customer service and our staff benefit from our in house training and development schemes.

It is such a pleasure to read that the team here have left you with a lasting impression of us and i only hope you return to Novotel coventry in the near future.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino, Italia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Definitely poor for such a rate. The lobby is the only nice (and clean) part of the hotel. Rooms are old and quite dirt.
Staff don't care at you (I arrived late, that's right, but I had to wait 15 minutes for the night desk guy to check in).
Breakfast is the tipical english, but again poor in taste and quality. I definitely expected something more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCoventry, General Manager at Novotel Coventry, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your stay.

The hotel is part of an ongoing refurbishment program and is constantly being updated.

We pride ourselves on customer service and standards so i apologise you feel you have not received this level of customer service and standard.

We hope you return to Novotel Coventry to experience a genuine hassle free stay.

Many Thanks
Jackie Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Coventry

Address: Wilsons Lane | Longford, M6 Junction 3, Coventry CV6 6HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Coventry 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Coventry M6/J3 is an AA rated hotel located within walking distance of Ricoh Arena and 15 minutes from the centre of Coventry, Birmingham International Airport and the NEC. Ideal for a business trip with 8 meeting rooms for conferences and semi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Coventry Hotel Coventry
Coventry Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.