We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Coventry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Coventry to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Coventry
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dolomite Avenue | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely staff, very helpful and friendly. Everything you need under 1 roof, gym, pool, spa, sauna, steam room, Starbucks, pub, restaurant. Really clean hotel. Loved the spa facilities, lovely facial and back massage. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    189
    149
    72
    46
See reviews for
90
152
31
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Like other reviewers I suffered the late night disco directly below my room . I only stayed one night this time and unfortunately further to my previous review the standard of food has only improved marginally since my last review. My first course was reasonable but when my main course was service (Ribs) it was just warm. (When I worked in hotels food was meant to be hot). Service was not great waited some time to place my order,

At Breakfast time guests appeared not to know if the restaurant was open yet and none of the staff appeared to want to talk to customers as they all disappeared into the kitchen as people dared to venture into the restaurant after following other people in.

Last time I was at the hotel I was told that a credit would be added to my account and I could use it the next time I used to hotel as an apology for the poor service and poor food. I said that because of other commitments |I would not be using the hotel for some months and I was told that it would be there when I could use it again, I asked about this when booking and was told to speak to reception on speaking to reception she said she could find no record of this against my records and she could only do something if I could name the member of staff I spoke to at the time. GREAT Customer Service.NOT

Room Tip: Anywhere any for the main event room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a Saturday night stay, with young children. Unfortunately, this is a wedding venue, and the hall was below our room with very loud disco till early hours. Went down to desk to complain bit was told there was nothing they could do. Then there was drunken screaming guests running around corridors banging on doors. This went on until almost 5am.
Appalling experience.

Breakfast wasn't much to talk about in morning either, so not even a token bonus point there I'm afraid!!

Would not recommend, but if you are going, and it is not part of a wedding, then ask if there are any weddings planned on the night of your stay. If there is, stay somewhere else if you actually want to sleep!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions in the past and have been happy with the accommodation and facilities. This visit has however put us completely off and we are now looking for alternative venues for future stays.

We experienced cold showers and cold rooms, which were eventually rectified upon consulting with the hotel reception. The whole hotel is becoming tired, particularly the swimming areas and rooms. Cleanliness could be improved, since my friend stood on crisps by her bed....... not hers either :/

This is not a cheap hotel, even with the Easter offer I managed to purchase, so the stay should be much better than it was. Breakfast was pretty shoddy - fatty bacon, not a lot of variety and the jugs of water are from the tap and not a pleasant taste.

Make sure you remember your toiletries, as unless your in the new part of the hotel at a cost of an extra £20 a night then forget it. Also, might be an idea to take some loo roll as the stuff they provide in the on-suite is like the tracing paper we used to have at school :/ What they fail to realise is that you end up using twice as much.

The bar was expensive as in most hotels but the menu had changed since our last visit and the food was poor and mostly greasy.

Very disappointed in our return stay, I hope we can find somewhere better for our return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Living within walking distance of the hotel we used to use the Bar on a regular basis,but after experiencing a number of annoying occurences we decided to take our trade elsewhere.
Getting off the train at the nearby station late the other night,and having worked up a thirst during the day,we decided to give it another try,but nothing seems to have changed.
The bar itself is very welcoming,nicely furnished,with a number of large screen TVs but the staff appear to have no idea in how to run it.
We approached the Bar to be told by the one barman serving that there was a queue and we should join the end of it.(it was two people long).
We thought he was joking, but no,it was apparently Company policy that you had to queue.
We therefore toed the line and went to the end of the queue,while waiting,other customers approached the bar only to be told by the barman to join the queue.They were all as incredulous as we were to be asked to queue in this way.
Once served we found a table,but it appeared that the glass collector was having a night off,as there were more dirty glasses and empty bottles around the room than behind the bar.
Although after 10pm there were a number of families with young children sitting at tables,probably enjoying an Easter break at the Hotel.
There was also a large group of young men who appeared to have been enjoying themselves all day and the beer and shorts were flowing on their table.
Unfortunately they were also very loud and were using crude language which i wouldn't have wanted my children to hear when they were the age of the children in the room.You would expect a bar in a hotel which provides good facilities for families would be family friendly.
Lastly although we didn't eat,a glance at the menu was enough to put us off,with a portion of fries being priced slightly under £4, and Soup £4.50.
It will be a while i think before we venture through their doors again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed overnight in March - have stayed at this destination previously. Room was at the rear of the hotel on the Upper Deck - its a long walk. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Did not use the pool / fitness room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On arrival at this hotel we were met with a welcoming smile from the receptionist and made to feel really welcome. Our room was very comfortable and well cared for. There was plenty of space and a good seating area. We decided on staying in the hotel for our evening meal and using the restaurant.It was decided that we would eat from the three course offer menu that was priced at £29. Plenty of choice and the food was delightful. Earlier we had used the swimming pool and spa facilities which we found to be very good and met Our requirements. All the staff at the hotel were courteous and very helpful. In the bar area every night was based on a different theme which added to our enjoyment. A very good hotel to use if wanting to tour the county of Warwickshire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Coventry

Address: Dolomite Avenue | Coventry Business Park, Coventry CV4 9GZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Coventry)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Coventry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Coventry is located just 5 minutes from Coventry City Centre and an ideal location for accessing the M42 - M6 - M5 and M40 motorways. Birmingham International Airport is 10 miles away and Coventry Train Station just 2 miles. Nearby attractions include Warwick Castle, Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Planet ice skating rink. Village Urban Resort Coventry has 146 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Coventry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Coventry
Village Hotel Leisure Coventry
Hotel Village Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.