We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Italia

Cafe Italia
Trinity Street, Coventry, England
2476 632 739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 453 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Really good value for money, visited a few times and always busy. Food excellent, for an early morning snack their teacakes are scrummy

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Cracking little Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location just near the Cathedral. Friendly service and great coffee. The menu suggests it’s a bit of a jack of all trades, but I think they get a large cross section of customers. Don’t be put off: I had a gorgeous fresh baked (I saw him juggling the dough in the open plan kitchen) ham and mushroom pizza and the wife loved her pesto Panini. Great stuff – great value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Will return...again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Eaten here loads of times, and other than early on a Sunday morning this place is always heaving!

The staff are very friendly. The food great. Last time I had the lasagne. I'll be honest It's not as good as mums lasagne, but it's not shame coming second place., as my mum is the worlds best cook. My wife had the "fishy" pasta dish (cannot remember its name). It was very good.

Personally I am surprised that they can keep everything together when they are so busy, but that is a testament to their professionalism.

Will return again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Don't be put off when you walk into this restaurant.....its soooo badly decorated as you go in you think you're entering a jungle! But looks can be deceiving.......as you walk further in things DO get better....rustic wooden furniture and a wallpapered mural ease the jungle feel! Generally Coventry is completely devoid of any decent coffee shops.....bog standard chains of Starbucks, Costa and Cafe Nero are your lot.....but this little cafe offers good coffee and a good selection of cafe style food. The spinach and ricotta cannelloni is very tasty, although they do serve it with crisps and salad which they won't allow you to swop for a more normal garlic bread...but then they do serve crisps and salad with everything for some reason! The goats cheese and caramelised onion panini is delicious, as is the 3 colour salad (mozarella, tomato and avacado) and they also offer a good selection of wraps and pizzas.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

On arrival we were pleasently suprised, lovely decor, great menu, welcoming staff.
Unfortunately after pacing our order it all went a bit down hill. Meals all came out at seperate times with a long wait between each. Some dishes were amazing, others awful.
Toilet facilities filthy.
It is sad as it appears to be a beautifully set up restaurant with a great menu and some lovely staff but we would not return and were thoroughly dissapointed especially as this was a birthday meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Italia also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Cafe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.