We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Delight

Bengal Delight
Holbrook | 166 - 168 Holbrook Lane, Coventry CV6 4BY, England
+44 24 76686789
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Bengal Delight is a simple and stylish curry house on Holbrook Lane in Coventry serving up authentic regional cuisine from Bangladesh, India and Pakistan. With wooden floors, burgundy leather seats and fresh flowers, the dining room has a welcoming ambience, and the staff at Bengal Delight are are friendly and helpful. The restaurant's menu features old favourites alongside contemporary chef's specials, and popular dishes include the Chicken Chilli Massala with lemon juice, fresh garlic and chopped chillies; the Shatkora Tenga – tender lamb cooked with citrus fruit and spices; and the Sylheti Jhinga Massala – king prawns baked in the tandoor and served with yoghurt and fresh cream. Bengal Delight is popular with locals for fun get-togethers and celebrations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Totally magnificent! Good variety of choices cooked to perfection. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Would recommend this restaurant to everyone. It is a privilege to dine there. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    25
    11
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

my husband and I have used the restaurant many times for a take away, I have sent (as a hotel Manager) many of my guests to the restaurant but we have never been & sampled the restaurant until this evening. The service was excellent,the staff very friendly albeit they were extremely busy they still had "time" for each table. The menu was exciting and the food was modern and vibrant and each dish was beautifully presented and done with care and attention. the decor is modern and has a good atmosphere. We will certainly be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“shame your not closr to Notts....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We was staying overnight at Coombe Abbey Hotel but the restaurant there was fully booked, one of the staff there recommend we visit Bengal Delight....I'm now very glad the restaurant at the hotel was full because the meal at Bengal was fantastic along with the service & price just a shame you are not closer to Notts but i'm sure we could make the 50 minute journey to dine with you again :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirty cellar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“SORRY BUT JUST ABOUT AVERAGE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Used to use this place all quite often used to be A1. Thinks have definitely changed food was hit and miss on a table of four, we ordered x4 lager 1 Bacardi and coke 1 brandy lemonade, 4 popadom with chutneys, 1 chicken tikka starter, 1 chicken pakora starter, sheikh kebab starter, 2 fried rice 1 chicken fried rice 1 chips 1 egg fried rice,1 meat bhuna, 1 lamb dansak, 1 chicken jalfrezi, 1 chicken tikka masala total cost £84 cheap?? sorry not in my book! Dansak and jalfrezi nice 7 out of 10 bhuna 5 out 10 tikka masala tasted like a korma 2 out of 10 all rice tasted of burnt oil!! very very disappointed sorry guys but will not be returning in a hurry will try jacks next door when eating in the area next time

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dave and Lynda ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrived at the Bengal delight on a Sunday night which was very busy, however the very polite waiter found us a nice table, after reading the extensive and interesting menu we had 3 poppadums to start with 5 generous dips -2 mains shared rice and naan-3 pints -2 cokes which came to £34 in total -very cheap but amazing quality -the best we've ever had -better than anywhere we've been in Birmingham or Warwick! Even the chef (bash) came out to check if our food was to our liking! I recommend this place to any Indian food lover -highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Delight also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Bengal Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Delight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.