We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Delight

Bengal Delight
Holbrook | 166 - 168 Holbrook Lane, Coventry CV6 4BY, England
+44 24 76686789
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 435 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bengal Delight is a simple and stylish curry house on Holbrook Lane in Coventry serving up authentic regional cuisine from Bangladesh, India and Pakistan. With wooden floors, burgundy leather seats and fresh flowers, the dining room has a welcoming ambience, and the staff at Bengal Delight are are friendly and helpful. The restaurant's menu features old favourites alongside contemporary chef's specials, and popular dishes include the Chicken Chilli Massala with lemon juice, fresh garlic and chopped chillies; the Shatkora Tenga – tender lamb cooked with citrus fruit and spices; and the Sylheti Jhinga Massala – king prawns baked in the tandoor and served with yoghurt and fresh cream. Bengal Delight is popular with locals for fun get-togethers and celebrations
coventry
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This restaurant is nice inside and staff are friendly. The food is quite nice but I often find it runny. The good thing is they also deliver so good for those cold evenings

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    31
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Something a bit special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The great thing abut Tripadvisor is that you get to visit off-the-beaten track places that turn out to be amazing. This place looks nothing particularly great from the outside and is (no disrespect!) in a fairly run-down area a couple of miles outside town. You would be forgiven for driving right past.
Not much to be said for it then? Wrong!
Really extensive menu that clearly explains what all the food is, how hot it is and what sort of spices you get. Plenty of the "usual suspects" on the menu but also lots of interesting stuff with unusual ingredients (squid, lobster etc). Kitchen to back it up - I have been to a few Indian restaurants with esoteric menus and no esoteric chef - but here the food was superb.
In our party of seven, one of them said it was the best curry he had ever had. I'm not far behind.
Oh, and it isn't overly expensive either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“best cury house in coventry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we have been coming here since it opened , Ive tried every other curry house in Coventry but nothing compares lots of choice on the menu .to suite everyone's taste. food is resonalbally priced mains from £7 to £15 average

so treat yourself to a great evening . and you have got to try the baileys cheesecake best ever
be sure to book as it is always busy

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First Impressions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Overall, this, our first visit, left us feeling we had made a good choice for our Saturday evening curry. The service was nicely paced the staff were efficient, very pleasant, but not overly attentive; we were allowed to take time over our meal, but the service was there when required. The food was freshly cooked, not too oily, delicately spiced, and well presented. It was suggested that we try the cheesecake for dessert, which was obviously home-made and fresh - delicious - and made a nice, surprise, end to the meal.
The restaurant appears quite small and unassuming, but is pleasantly decorated, table settings were immaculate and showed an attention to detail.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My go to place for a curry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Ideal place to try a dish you wouldn't normally go for. The menu has a great choice. Curries are rally tasty, fresh and interesting. Who ever makes the breads is a genius. Poppadoms and pickle tray is one of the best. I love the cauliflower bhaji side dish. It's worth a visit if you like your curry genuine and delish.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Delight also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Bengal Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Delight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.