We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Open Arms

The Open Arms
Daventry Rd, Coventry CV3 5DP, England
+44 24 76505129
Improve this listing
Ranked #311 of 427 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coventry
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not sure if this is the worse meal I have ever had but it certainly comes close to it. to begin with we order the food and are informed there will be a wait. The place is virtually empty but maybe the microwav is on the blink. My starter arrives with small slices of stale bread instead of warm toast but apparently I don't know what warm toast looks like when I query it with the waitress. I ask for some butter to go with the toast but am told the melted butter on top of the pate is how they serve butter. Again when I query I am told I am in the wrong. I also notice there is no plum chutney which is on the menu. A friend has the battered mushrooms, greasy and four in total!! The main course!! Congealed chicken pie with soggy vegetables and cold, cold, COLD. The chilli no way matches its menu description and again cold. Homemade nachos - yeah right. Left feeling more hungry than when I entered this establishment. Will not return. Surly service and horrible food does not equal a pleasant experience.YUK!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    9
    9
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just about average ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked for Sunday lunch and the booking process over the phone was faultless and friendly. As was our cheerful waitress when we ate.

But ... the food was distinctly average and had obviously been kept hot out in the kitchens.

We chose belly pork and beef from the Sunday lunch menu - the beef was very overcooked but the belly pork was tender. Unfortunately the pork crackling was very soggy.

Not much point elaborating on the rest of the lunch - just choose somewhere else and pay a bit more for fresher food.

We paid around £16 for 2 main courses - we didn't want the starters or puddings (all extra I believe)

The Open Arms is a good local for a pint but don't try the Sunday lunch.

Happy to say mid weeks meals looked a lot better last time we visited - so you take your chance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas is over at open arms 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

All decorations inside pub have been removed, to the great delight of the miserable staff working there, the Christmas spirit had long since left this pub.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
“Very average & lacking in atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Can you believe it ??!! It 's only the 29th December, and not a single Xmas decoration in sight!!! ... It's even worse than last year!! ALL decorations were taken down by 12:15
am on New Years Eve, there were only about 30 people (max) in the pub all night!! This year they deserve '0' !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“xmas get together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

8 of us visited on friday 20th december for a pre booked xmas meal. Unfortunately they had not got our table ready. However they quickly rectified this and everything was fine. The food and service was very good, but the main turkey dinner was not very big. It was busy and quite noisy but this is what you expect at xmas. Overall a nice pub, much better than other embers we have visited recently.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open Arms also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Baginton, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Open Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Open Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.