We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect...couldn't be happier... Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocked Hat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cocked Hat to your Saves list
Cocked Hat
Rugby Rd | Binley Wood, Coventry CV3 2AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect...couldn't be happier... Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great rooms, excellent service. Very nice very friendly staff, nice bar and restaurant serving exceptional food for value. Couldn't ask for a better place. If it was a Tom Daley dive id give it a 10 out of 10 ha

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
19
29
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed here whilst on business in Coventry. The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and I liked having breakfast in the hotel and not the bar. Plenty of parking.

The room was a good size with usual facilities. I did find the bed a little soft and found the habit of putting all the tea and coffee stuff in the only mug annoying. Otherwise very quiet & good value for money.

Unfortunately the pub next door wasn't so great sticky tables & cheap rubbish food - the friendly staff were its only redeeming feature.

I'd stay at the hotel again but eat elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Been here before and was satisfied so here we were again with some
" New " items on the Menu. We chose the Amer Prawn Salad and the Caribbean Curry sharing a bowl of chips side. Both were most agreeable leaving a spicy warm after taste. Washed down with an excellent pint of Pedigree this was solid Pub grub total bill under £20 for the pair of us.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The rooms were nice and clean, and I found the staff on reception were very helpful and also very friendly, good location the only downside was the chef didn't turn up so no cooked breakfast was available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here on Saturday 15th March
The receptionist was very welcoming, our room was clean, well appointed and well maintained. The hairdryer was missing from the room, but another one was delivered as soon as we enquired. We didn't have breakfast. We would stay again.
We ate in the pub, part of the hotel. I ordered a hot-hot dog, which when it arrived was far too hot even for my taste. When the waitress took the plates, she failed to ask if our meals has been okay, which as my plate was almost full, it obviously wasn't.
The dining room was very full, but the lady maitre'd had the place running like clockwork, she was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as it was close to the venue we were trading at this weekend. On the Thursday 2 hours after arriving our van was broken into and £3000 worth of stock was stolen. Other than very begrudgingly providing CCTV footage to the police couldn't have cared or done less in fact the managers contribution was this might lead to us getting better cameras give this is not the first time in recent weeks this has happened I would certainly hope so. If you value your property i suggest steering well clear of the Cocked Hat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear budha64

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Cocked Hat in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Flaming Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed here as part of a hen party for a stay near to Coombe Abbey for the banquet there.
The hotel is located next to a pub near to a main road/dual carriageway. There is a retail park nearby and a TGIs across the (busy) road, so there are places to eat and drink if you don't already have plans.
There were six of us and we booked three twin rooms. The rooms were all clean and had an ensuite with bath and shower, although no hand soap/toiletries was provided. Tea and coffee and a hairdryer were all located in the room. Although we paid the same for each room the sizes varied dramatically. One room being double the size of another. May be worth asking for a larger room when booking.
The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. A taxi to Coombe Abbey costs between 5 and 7 pounds, I would recommend you pre-book. There are plenty of car parking spaces available
We did not have breakfast so can not comment in this.
Nothing special but exactly what we needed and for £45 per night per twin room great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocked Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocked Hat

Address: Rugby Rd | Binley Wood, Coventry CV3 2AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cocked Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocked Hat Hotel Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocked Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.