We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocked Hat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cocked Hat to your Saves list
Cocked Hat
Rugby Rd | Binley Wood, Coventry CV3 2AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Wick, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My mum and I stayed here as she had to go to university hospital. Staff were brilliant. Mum is disabled but able to walk short distances although uses a wheelchair for distance. Plenty room in bedroom/bathroom in 2nd room , the mix up with rooms was not the hotels fault but laterooms.Hotel was spotless. Excellent value two meals for £10. Breakfast was very nice apart from tinned toms with the cooked. Room had an outside garden to sit and relax. Definately stay again on next visit.

Room Tip: If you like a garden type room ask for room 5. This is a very spacious room with room for a wheelcha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sandy R,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Cocked Hat and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
21
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had my wedding reception here recently and was blown away with the service. The staff couldn't have done more to ensure everything was perfect and nothing was too much trouble. The food served at the reception was so good I would give it 5 stars and we had so many comments on how great the evening buffet was as well. The price of the wedding package was worth every penny. You would expect quality like this for much higher prices. The cost of the hotel rooms were also very good which meant all of my guests could stay all weekend here without having to pay a fortune. Everyone was very happy with the rooms and we had plenty of comments about how helpfull the staff were. My family and friends have said they will use this hotel every time they come and visit. All in all this hotel not only made my wedding day perfect but made the stay perfect for all my guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a really good hotel for the money. The place was clean and warm with a comfortable bed and all that you would expect in a good hotel room, along with a few unexpected extras such as iron and ironing board.

The room was small although warm clean and comfortable, it was quite noisy due to the busy road next to the hotel, so take some earplugs and you will be fine. The shower water pressure is quite low and in the morning it takes a while for the hot to run through so if you are used to a power shower then you will be disappointed.

Next door has a chain gastro pub which serves good value tasty food although it does get rather busy, breakfast is also served in the pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear scottpeter,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Cocked Hat, we have passed you comments onto the management team so they can look into the pressure on the showers.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitley bay
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overall, our large family party had a pleasant and good value for money weekend at the Cocked Hat Hotel and Pub/Restaurant. Six of us stayed in the hotel, and twelve of us, including two children, gathered at the pub for both lunch and an evening meal.

The Hotel:
• The location is excellent. It is easily accessible both from the motorway, and by bus from Coventry city centre, about four miles away. It is set back from the busy main road, so there is no traffic noise.
• The on-site pub is brilliant! (More below.)
• We also appreciated the fact that we did not have to check out until 12 noon.
• Our rooms were clean and not too cramped; the beds were comfortable; the bathrooms were spacious; and the showers were efficient.
• There is a private courtyard with seating, and also a communal ‘lounge’ area. This is just furnished with wooden tables and chairs, but it’s a convenient amenity for allowing large parties to gather together in poor weather. (This is not possible in individual rooms as they are only equipped with one chair!)

We had a few slight niggles:
• We were disappointed at the lack of sachets of shampoo etc.
• It would have been appreciated if there had been a hairdryers in the rooms. (Apparently they are available from Reception – but this can prove difficult as Reception is not always manned.)
• It was nice to have tea/coffee making facilities, but the sachets etc were piled in the mugs rather than in a separate bowl. We had to tip them out on to the desk top, which looked untidy.
• We found our rooms were rather gloomy. There were no ceiling lights, and the bedside lamps were too dim to read by!
• The rooms were quite hot and stuffy, even with the windows open. (However, to be fair, it was an unusually warm night.)
• Checking in was a bit of a headache. One couple in our party arrived at 5pm to find the door to Reception locked. They had to trek over to the pub to find someone who could open up and check them in! Even when we arrived at 2.30, we had to wait a while as there was no-one about and no bell to ring for service.
• Nevertheless, all in all, the accommodation was good value at £45 per room per night (We booked online through Booking.com), and the service – when available – was courteous, friendly and helpful.

The Pub/Restaurant:
What a gem! We had a few slight niggles but, overall, we were extremely impressed:
• It was an ideal venue for a large family reunion. As the weather was fine we were able to sit outside in the extensive gardens and courtyards. There are a huge number of tables in several areas: a large lawn, a terrace, two courtyards, and a covered area. Some tables had heaters for when the evenings became chilly. We were always able to find a table, even though there must have been hundreds of people sitting outside and ordering meals. The grounds also provided enough space for the children to play and explore in safety.
• The menu was extensive, and included some excellent offers eg 2for£10. The ‘sharing platters’ and the sweets were also delicious, beautifully presented, and good value for money. All of the food was of very high quality, and all our orders arrived promptly and at the same time – which was incredibly impressive, considering the number of customers on such a busy Saturday in August!
• The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. One waitress in particular was extremely attentive to the needs of the baby and the children in our party. I wish I had noted her name! She even helped to clean up the baby when he was sick!

We had a few slight niggles:
• The bar area had an unpleasant smell of stale beer.
• The toilet paper in the Ladies’ loo ran out quite early in the evening. We pointed this out to the staff, but it wasn’t rectified. We were handed paper serviettes over the bar, which was quite embarrassing!
• The real ale ran out halfway through the evening.

Finally – be sure to check your bill when checking out. We were almost charged for breakfasts that we hadn’t had! The system of showing your room key to charge meals to your room bill is obviously open to staff /computer error! The receptionist was very apologetic but, nevertheless, phone calls to the restaurant to sort it out took quite some time!

One final tip: I noted from the info available in the room that you can get a snack breakfast in the restaurant – ie: tea/coffee/fruit juice + egg/beans on toast or a bacon sandwich – for just £2.95. This info wasn’t available online. Had it been, I wouldn’t have taken sandwiches to avoid paying the quoted £7.50pp for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Tynedale

thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here to break the journey from Cardiff to Yorkshire and for my husband to re-visit some of my husband's childhood haunts. The location was perfect for us, and although near to busy roads we didn't find the traffic noise a problem. There is a nice beer garden between the hotel and restaurant which was very enjoyable in the good weather.

The friendliness throughout our stay was first rate. Our room was on the first floor. These rooms are like attic rooms and were incredibly hot, this being the hottest weekend of the year. The matress on the bed was quite soft and springy for my taste but it didn't bother my husband. The bathroom was perfectly good and the whole room was very clean.

Breakfast the next day was very good. My husband enjoyed his poached eggs on toast and I really enjoyed the continental choices.Overall this hotel is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: First floor rooms were very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear TrishaBishop,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

fantastic staff.... fantastic location...... fantastic rooms..... fantastic food........fantastic price.....FANTASTIC LITTLE HOTEL ! i will be returning

Room Tip: Call in advance and ask for a room upstairs ! blisfully quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Cocked Hat, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear burrowsBirmingham

Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Cocked Hat, hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The property is clean and comfortable. The difference for me was after using travelodge this place is a more homely and does not have the coprporate image of the other big chains. The accomodaton is detatched from the pub therefore no noise. (only 1 minute walk) Good parking facilities and and the usual pub food. The price of food is another bargain lots of 2 for a tenner deals and although not gourmet the standard and choice of dishes is acceptable. £50 for the night is good value and reccomended with the plus of all the facilities available.

Room Tip: Morrisons supermarket and Macdonalds nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocked Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocked Hat

Address: Rugby Rd | Binley Wood, Coventry CV3 2AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cocked Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocked Hat Hotel Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocked Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.