We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally,a decent restaurant in Coventry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bistro

Blue Bistro
21 Spon Street, Coventry CV1 3BA, England
024 7622 9274
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 427 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $8 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: At the Blue Bistro restaurant we offer a fabulous menu featuring modern British cuisine with a Mediterranean twist, based upon great, preferably local, seasonal ingredients, ethically sourced and cooked with passion. Despite the quality of our food, it is still possible to lunch at Blue for a fiver. Awards include the Warwickshire & Worcestershire Life Food & Drink Newcomer of the Year 2012 and an OpenTable Diners Award as one of the top ten most romantic restaurants in the UK and Ireland. The dining area at Blue covers two floors of a beautiful medieval building dating back to 1450, the exposed beams of which are complemented by striking wooden furniture to create an elegant ambiance and a unique dining experience. The building was formerly a pub called the Green Dragon - reputedly the model for the inn featured in George Eliot's Middlemarch.The restaurant is situated on the historic Spon Street, in Coventry City Centre, an easy walk from the Belgrade Theatre, the Skydome and its Odeon cinema, Ikea and, of course, Coventry Cathedral.We have good disabled facilities, but if you have mobility issues please let us know to ensure that your table is not upstairs!Unlike many restaurants, we are happy to welcome children.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finally,a decent restaurant in Coventry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What can I say? Excellent food and excellent service,a combination and balance which so many restaurants fall short of. The staff were highly attentive without been intrusive with an extensive knowledge of the food and wine they were serving. Great ambience in an atmospheric venue with great attention to detail which did not go amiss. Would highly recommend and can't wait to return with friends and family. A true gem in the centre of Coventry!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    56
    22
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place. We visited pre-cinema and we were in quite a hurry .a shame.we would have liked to have stayed longer to enjoy the ambience and savour the lovely food . Great customer service, professional and knowledgable waitress who couldn't do more for us . Gave us a discount off our next visit too! We will definitely go back ...lovely little restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited Blue Bistro a couple of weeks ago for my fiancé's birthday. I asked the staff if they'd mind putting some candles in the dessert when it came out as a surprise, which they readily agreed to. They then came over with menus and a complimentary glass of bubbly for each of us - a start to the great meal. We both enjoyed our dinner but unfortunately the candles, although in the dessert, weren't lit. We thought it was quite funny but the manager was quite upset so they brought over the rest of the bottle of bubbly (again complimentary) and offered us a discount voucher for our next visit. The food was great but what struck us most was the customer service, they were so friendly and really wanted to make our experience special - we'd happily go back again just based on this, the great food was a bonus. Thank you Blue Bistro for giving us a fab evening!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, ambience, luscious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Blue Bistro when we were staying in Coventry at a hotel that had a wedding on and were too busy to bother with actual guests. We asked our 13yr old grandson to get on the interweb and find us somewhere to eat, he did and found the Blue Bistro. It was brilliant. Wait staff, really friendly but so proffesional. Menu is small but means you don't get confused with choice. Absolutely wonderful food. We all finished our plates and left room for dessert which again was glorious. Wishing Jamie the owner all the best and we will be back, as would anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very oldie worldy inside. In touch with the tudor outside exterior. Lovely atmosphere with music (not too loud) inside. Extensive menu both lunch and evening. Food plentiful and delicious. Never been let down in all the times we've been there. Staff very attentive to your needs. Fantastic range of beers and wines. Can't wait to try the new Sunday menu :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bistro also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Blue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.