We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the search” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etna

Etna
54-57 Hertford Street, Coventry CV1 1LB, England
02476223183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 427 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were first time visitors to the city centre, Coventry and were disappointed at the dearth of good independent eateries. Eventually we discovered the Etna and had good, typical, Italian fare. Very attentive service, lots of variety, we couldn't fault the quality either. The cook appeared during the meal to converse with guests which added to the general conviviality, but he should really have made the effort to don a clean bib first! A Sicilian slant to the dishes and preparation. Would certainly call in again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    12
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real european dining experience - with excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The inside of the restaurant may be dated, but the food & service are second to none! Polite, attentive & friendly waiting staff. Freshly cooked, tasty food & real Italian Gellato and coffee. The food is not cheap, but you are paying for good food, and being allowed the time to enjoy good food & conversation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very tasty, real italian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went to the restaurant and the pasta, risotto and pizzas was so tasty and very good. We recommend this italian to go and is not really overpriced you are paying for really quality food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Completley overrated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Me and my partner decided to go here, as he had purchased a groupon voucher (2 starters, 2 mains for £18) We both ordered calamari for starters and it was unseasoned, and the batter was mushy, we were laughing about how bad it was, and hoped the next course would be better... the seafood spaghetti was embarrassing, and below mediocre, and my partner was certain he had eaten the spaghetti before... in an Iceland ready meal. The restaurant is also very dated, and seems like you're walking into the dining room of somebody who has been dead for 50 years, it seems dusty and dated.

We will not be attending here again, we laugh at the food experience, and our thankful we got the vouchers, however next time we will definitely be going to Bella Italia.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unfortunate purchase of a groupon for 4 people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

On June the 6 we had the misfortune of going to this restaurant the four of us had our starter which wasn't too bad. we then ordered our main course consisting of 3 fillet steaks 2 with a sauce and 1 chicken dish with a sauce.The chef rings a bell when food is ready several rings later waiter decides to give us our food by this time my steak was stone cold which they reheated not looking good tasted even worse next thing chef comes from kitchen with said steak in hand shouting at me and saying there is nothing wrong with this steak you should eat it at this point not very amused.
Manager said he could afford to loose our custom.
Never Again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etna also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.