We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, good food, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Palace

Bombay Palace
64, Earlsdon St | Earlsdon, Coventry CV5 4EJ, England
024 7667 7851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 427 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Award winning Bombay Palace was first established in 1980. We serve some of the finest food in town, in a pleasant setting, for the best possible experience. Our dishes are known to impress and inspire!Sun-Thurs 2 for 1 Main Course Special Offer for dining in. Fri - Sat Early Bird Offer 20% discount when dining in.25% discount on collected take away orders.Sun-Thurs Free delivery over £20 (within 3 miles)Street Food Special Event Nights Coming Soon!-For 1 night only each week,sample indias favourite street food dishes. A new street food menu each week, only at the bombay palace.New Exciting Menu Launching Soon!- Amri Scallop, Hariyali Tikka, Bombay Shank and Sylheti Chops to name but a few!Register Now at Our Website To Get a Free Starter
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good value for money, good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

This restaurant has been in earlsdon for years and it's lovely. The food is good, the service it's fast and polite and staff very helpful! Interesting menu, only criticism is that there is not much detail on it, but staff always happy to explain dishes. Much beyer than some of the other more highly acclaimed and widely revered restaurants in cov

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Staff unwelcoming and the food just as bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Went to the Bombay Indian Resteraunt Saturday 22nd Oct with my sons and brother,when we got there the place was empty, beautiful settings but the staff looked so angry, not what you want when you have just walked in. It was if we shouldn`t have been there, everything was rushed and not by us.When the food arrived the chicken was of poor quality and it was supposed to be a madras, well I love my curries as you will see in previous posts but this was ridiculas. Hot was not the word for it, I had to leave the majority of it.. I just hope the owners look on Trip Advisor and see what they really are like.I shall not be returning for quite a while, if ever. Keep well clear as its not cheap either.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011 via mobile

Only ate here once but it was the best Indian I ever had, I dont eat Indian food very often and it's not really my preferred choice. However when I do go I like to try something different. Sadly I can not remember what it was called (lamb pieces and minced lamb in a dark red sauce) but it was truly amazing! By far the tastiest and most flavoursome Indian dish I have ever had and the rest of my table were also very happy with their meals. A+ for this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food in an unpretentious atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I often visit this particular Indian restaurant as it is one of our favourite in the city. We visited lastnight for an impromptu midweek curry, and the experience was as pleasurable as it always is.

The people who work in Bombay Palace are always very attentive, and there is never any delay in them greeting you as you walk in the door. Lastnight the restaurant wasn't very busy, but I've always found them to be attentive even if the restaurant is packed, as it often is on a Friday or Saturday evening. The waiters are patient and one didn't mind talking my husband through some of the new dishes on the menu at length. Very friendly.

The food was delicious. I can't remember the name of what I ordered, but it had king prawns, aubergine and mushrooms in it and it was absolutely done to perfection. Servings are generous but not to the point of being unable to eat them and everything is cooked to perfection... and always is.

The atmosphere last night was a bit flat as the restaurant wasn't very busy, but I have been in there on weekend nights when it's really been buzzing.

I most liked that the waiters will happily share a joke with you, and spend the time trying to advise you towards dishes they think you might like. I didn't like so much that the restaurant was a bit quiet, but as I say I've been in there many a time when it's buzzing.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Consistent, sometimes excels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The menu can be complex but Fish curry is usually very good, especially like the aubergine, tomato and egg with the added chilli being just enough to lift the dish. Keep it simple with dahl soup, side veg like bhindi and plain Naan. The lamb cylon curry sauce although nicely spiced but in the end a bit boring and the lamb a bit underdone.Smaller place with friendly staff, smooth service.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Palace also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Bombay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.