We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Strada

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Strada
Birmingham, England (Ladywood)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,118 of 1,688 Restaurants in Birmingham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned after a visit to Strada at the Mailbox, Birmingham. Firstly, the restaurant was quite chilly. Starters were small and uninspiring, the Tricolour was too cold and tasteless, Bruschetta was tiny for £4.50.The Rump steak was cooked ok but tasted only of the grill. The salad it was served on was very bland. my partner said the best thing about the lamb shank was the mash, say's it all really. Had to ask twice for a drink, even though it was deserted. Would not return under any circumstances;

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food excellent, service not so!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited on a Saturday lunchtime. There was a large party in, who I'm sure had reserved! However, there did not seem enough staff on duty!
Our order was taken quickly, and drinks arrived promptly! But, we waited 30 minutes for our starters, we actually asked for our main to be brought out as soon as it was ready as we had an appointment and were worried we'd have to wait again!
The food was beautiful! The king prawns were out of this world! When we paid the guy had no change in the till! We were owed £8 change and had to wait 10 minutes for it to be brought to us!

All in all the food was yummy, but service could have been greatly improved!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

nice bar atmosphere is nice nice and well looked after too, only issue was parking but enjoyed the cocktails and service

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Excellent"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food is value for money and l go to Nando's very often. I would recommend it to anyone. The helping is quiet sufficient and the staff are friendly too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adequate Italian...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Laid back atmosphere with friendly service from staff who gave the impression they were happy to be there and even happy to have us there. We came here as refugees from a nearby French restaurant that failed to offer us anything to eat or drink in about a half an hour!

We were in a rush so ordered quickly but we were not disappointed, generally. Had a mozzarella salad that was OK, the cheese could have been creamier and there were far too few basil leaves - four I think! My partner had creamy mushrooms with polenta.

For mains, I went for a light pizza of artichoke and goats cheese, very good I thought. My partner had a risotto with scallops (this has been the summer of the scallop for us). The risotto was good but the collection of scallops were over cooked and chewy - a shame really.

Both meals washed down with a rough but acceptable Merlot.

Have eaten at Strada a few times and it always provides a decent meal, but with places like Jamie's Italian opening everywhere, it does need to raise its game.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.