We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Great Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Hagley Road, Haborne, Birmingham B17 8BJ, England (Harborne)
+44 121 277 4130
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kings Head is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #426 of 1,592 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $15 - $53
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Tapas, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Harborne
Description: Located at the landmark junction between Hagley Road and Bearwood Road in Birmingham, this 19th century pub has undergone a major refurbishment and is one of the most stylish gastro-pub-dining-room come loungey-cocktail-bars in town. With its warehouse style exposed brick walls, gilt Venetian mirrors, open fires and curved chocolate leather booths, The Kings Head is dead sexy and the free wi-fi, killer cocktail list and live music Friday and Saturday nights attracts a young professional crowd. Everything on the menu ��� from the Thai fishcakes with chilli jam to the grilled rib eye with chips and blue cheese butter ��� is classic gastro fare done well, and the bar serves fine wines, traditional ales and champagne.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have been here twice over the past couple of weeks and had a great time both times. The first time I had the gnocchi and it was fantastic! I never normally go for the vegetarian option but this was well worth it. The second time I opted for the lamb steak. Also delicious! The service at this place is also great! Really friendly and chilled. Will definitely be making this my regular!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    17
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited Kings Head after a wine tasting at Majestic on Hagley Road opposite, was a wed night. For this purpose and due to the fantastic young waitress we had, we thankfully experienced a slightly different Kings Head to the other reviewers!
Unfortunately there was a lot on the menu unavailable, some fish dishes and all burgers were off the menu, not having the ingredients for any kind of burger when there is a whole section dedicated to them on the menu seems to point to poor ordering of ingredients from the kitchen.
But no matter, we ordered salmon and chicken Caesar salad after a delicious sharing Camembert with bread. The Caesar salad had bits of bacon chopped over it and the hugest piece of chicken breast you have ever seen. It was so big it had been cut in half and basically covered the whole dish and squashed the salad flat! I'm all for decent portions and the chicken was nicely cooked but it was too big to even push to the side so I could get to the salad. The bacon also actually appeared to either be cold floppy bacon or actually just cut up bits of cold ham. A strange ingredient which added nothing to the dish, my advice, keep simple dishes like Caesar salad, simple!
Friends salmon was tasty and was described as being on a bed of some sort of potato. It was basically on top of a jacket spud! Wine was nice, waitress was very helpful in finding wine info out for us and very friendly and helpful throughout the meal.
Menu states "check out our 2for1 specials board". This was blank.
As others have said this is not 2for1 value, its just a double priced meal and one for free. As a quick pub meal it was perfectly adequate and on my visit service was very good. I am unlikely to return in a hurry.
My advice, for a quick bite to eat after free wine tasting at Majestic over the road it is adequate, it is not fine dining and forget 2for1 value. And if other reviews are anything to go by avoid the manager like the plague! :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDS
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
826 helpful votes 826 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, great atmosphere, varied age range”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fancied a change from our usual Friday night venue so tried The Kings Head. Very pleasantly surprised; we were only drinking so can’t comment on this occasion on the food but found the drinks to be reasonably priced (bargain on certain wines before 8pm – May ’13), bar staff lovely and friendly, atmosphere very good and what we liked, a varied age range seemed to use the place. Overall, a lovely night, will be back next week :-D

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked a table for 6 people. On arrival the waiters took us the our table, The waiter was very friendly and said "shell I close the blinds for you so the sun is not in your eyes" The food was very good and the meat was cooked perfect. The service was ok. Drinks were good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic food & fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is how is should be done!!!!!
fantastic food & fantastic service. Really please with the quality of food, the price & the service.
I will be returning very soon!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.