We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing 1st and last visit!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Burger Kitchen (gbk)

Gourmet Burger Kitchen (gbk)
113-115 Wharfside Street,The Mailbox, Birmingham B1 1RF, England (Ladywood)
01216338564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #391 of 1,688 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, New Zealand, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Disappointing 1st and last visit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited here with my partner & family on a day out shopping recently & wished we'd chosen one of the other nearby eateries.
Food was poor & the over attentive service was awful.
My partner & daughter both chose burgers which were ok - small & bland compared to Handmade Burger Company's standards.
As a vegetarian I chose the pear & walnut salad substituting the bacon with mushrooms (sounds delicious but in reality was dire). Salad consisted of a tiny handful of limp rocket leaves.
Over attentive service meant we were disturbed every couple of minutes by staff wishing to see us more food/drinks.
Atmosphere was practically non existent.
Prices shockingly high for such a dire experience.
There are plenty of other eateries nearby - I suggest you pick one of those!!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    81
    42
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice burger, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great burger with sweet potato fries were very tasty, lovely food.
Service im afraid wasnt the best. Took a while for the plates to be cleared. Would understand if they were busy but it was very quiet, especially as there was 4 staff standing around chatting and laughing. If it wasnt for the great food, i wouldnt have been happy about spending £33 on 1 bottle of lager, a soft drink, 2 burgers and 2 small cups for the fries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willenhall
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

my husband had the Greek Lamb burger and i had the Wellington. OMG..they were so tasty! Bowl of fries and 2 beers to wash it all down with! How bad can that be? Service was good and bar staff very friendly. Will come here again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Refried burger”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Me and my other half had gone to have a meal, ordered our food and then. Waited some time, looked very small to what I would have expected, so I tried to take a bite and it was the toughest bite I have Eva had, it was terrible was so oily and over cooked it looked to me it had been previously cooked and then recooked! Was so horrid and so not worth my money, what was even. Worse the after effects of the burger was diareah and feeling sick, not worth a penny there people, go spend it at Nandos!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ok you will spend around £20 -£25 for a burger chips and a milkshake - BUT its well worth it. Very original taste combinations, great FUN atomsphere very casual. The Milkshakes are really good, an the Ap is fun and gives you free stuff. The burgers are very high standard and skinny fries excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Burger Kitchen (gbk) also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Gourmet Burger Kitchen (gbk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Burger Kitchen (gbk), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.