We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK'ish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar

Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar
12-22 Newhall Street, Birmingham B3 3LX, England (Ladywood)
+44 121 200 2767
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 1,592 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $91
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: Birmingham now has its very own brimful of Asha right here on Newhall Street. We're not kidding, Asha's is the latest addition to legendary Bollywood singer Asha Bhosle's empire. Following on from the success of restaurants in Kuwait and Dubai this is a place where fans of Indian music and Indian food can combine their passions. The space is large but intimate, decorated in a warm, welcoming style. And if you were concerned about theme-ish menus worry no more, from the fabulous Tandoori kebabs to the unmissable curries you'll be singing the praises of Asha's food all the way home.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Its OK'ish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went to Asha's last week as part of a group from work.
Its a in a great location, close to Colmore Row and would be an ideal place to take a date for a "posh indian meal"
Food was reasonable, mixed kebab starter was nicely spiced but at £20.00 expensive, my Lamb Vindaloo was OK, nothing to write home about, chilli nan was perfect.
Would i return, yes, but only if someone else was picking up the bill but even then i would try and get them to go elsewhere!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    197
    80
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good contemporary food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have been to ashas several times. In recent past with friends. We have always loved the overall experience. I think the food is very good contemporary indian, hence If you are looking for authentic indian then may be its not something for yourself. For Indians who are use to to proper indian food and know what they are eating can be disappointing,( my briyani was just basmati rice with succulent pieces of chicken, but i wouldnt call it briyani, there was no aroma of that fragrant briyani which comes from an amazing blend of spices and lemon juice and mint leaves, it was disappointing coz you cant make briyani without these key ingredients) however the service, the ambience and decor is great n great service as always.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was taken to Asha's restaurant in Birmingham for the first time last week, and has a wonderful time. The food was exceptional and the service was great. I would recommend giving this place a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ASHA'S CALLS ME BACK!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Third visit to Asha's and we crave for more!!This restaurant is an experience,so make sure to have ample time to enjoy it.
The restaurant has introduced a new cocktail menu using unique presentation with wood and copper.We ordered lamb chops barraah kebabs,which are definitely the best in UK.The lamb chops are succulent and packed with the right spice level.My partner is happy to eat 2 portions!! The food,drinks and the ambiance has elevated the dining standards in UK.
WE WILL BACK SOON GUYS!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food and service was excellent. The cocktails were amazingly presented and tasted great!! I took my girlfriend there right after work and was presently surprised at the speed with which i was catered for despite not having a reservation. The staff were exceptional and really knew their stuff, I would recommend the jaipur chicken for a starter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.