We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat if you are going to the Hippodrome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stageside Bar & Restaurant

Stageside Bar & Restaurant
Thorp Street, Birmingham B5 4AT, England
+44 844 338 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 1,602 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: British, Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: StageSide Bar & Restaurant in Birmingham, across the street from the Hippodrome's Stage Door on Thorp Street, is the place where Brummie theatre-goers, music-lovers and actors congregate for pre-theatre meals and post-show cocktails and critiques. Non-theatre goers can enjoy the food and atmosphere best on Friday and Saturday evenings after 7.30Pm. StageSide is a warm, buzzy and informal brasserie-style restaurant with burgundy walls and black leather chairs, that is often filled with cast and crew members for drinks and dinner. And it is a favourite spot with visitors to Birmingham's bustling Chinese Quarter. The modern European menu at StageSide changes regularly and example dishes include Caribbean Lamb Curry, Grilled Salmon Fillet, salsa verdi; Crab, Emmental & Spinach Tart; Creme Caramel, summer berry compote; Lemon Posset, fresh raspberries StageSide's wine list is well-chosen and offers a good selection of reasonably-prices wines.
East Mids
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great place to eat if you are going to the Hippodrome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have eaten here several times when going to see a show at the Hippodrome (although across the street it is part of the theatre). Went last night before seeing the Lion King which was disappointing but that is another story. The restaurant is very friendly with a wide choice of food and prices from Pizza to steak. Very good value and above all lovely friendly service from the 2 waitresses on duty last night. We returned after the show, just for coffee, and received the same warm welcome and level of service. We were all adults but they do have options for children on the menu.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely evening at the theatre topped off by a great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a find! This little restaurant is just what we hoped it would be before our visit to The Lion King last night. I hadn't got round to booking anywhere, and at the last minute on Monday sent an email asking if there were any tables for us. Got a lovely email back yesterday morning to say we could be accommodated (I did ring to confirm). We are absolutely delighted at the service we received, very attentive and pleasant waitresses, very engaging and helpful. The food was lovely and arrived in good time, the variety of choice on the menu was very good, the house wine lovely, and the coffee excellent. The bill was as we expected, and we received a complimentary programme which we didn't expect. The whole restaurant was very relaxing, very clean (including the restrooms), lovely white linen napkins, everything was just right, down to the little flower in the glass on the table. We couldn't believe more patrons weren't making use of the interval return option; very smooth, polished service with the staff advising us how long we had before curtain up. We'll certainly do this again, and send our thanks to everyone for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, Shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Four of us booked to eat after the Lion King at the adjoining Hippodrome Theatre. My wife and I had eaten at the restaurant previously, so we decided to repeat the event with two friends. Previously we had eaten before the show and the place was very busy, but decided this time to go there after instead. We were very surprised to find that we were the only ones booked in! There were a few people having drinks. If the service had been slow, we would have been upset but it wasn't and a very pleasant young lady servced us very well. Our food was enjoyable, as was the House 'Red'. During our meal a number of the cast arrived and added some atmosphere to the place.
Whilst in the show and the restaurant, the weather had turned really horrible and I suspect that may have contributed to the sparse numbers.
Overall, we found the place a nice retreat in which to relax after seeing a spectacular show and I think we would visit again next time we are at the Theatre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“pre show meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

we dined at the Stageside bar & restaurant before going in to see The Lion King at the Hippodrome. We enjoyed the meal and the staff where very pleasant.
As it is just across the road from the Hippodrome we didn't have far to walk.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very average pre-theatre meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited this restaurant before the Lion King this week. The food served was ok but was nothing to shout about. The main meal menu was pretty much a copy of the food on the starters list which was a bit surprising! Service was a little bit slow. We received a 15% discount for being friends of the Hippodrome. I won't be rushing back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stageside Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Stageside Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stageside Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.