We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham

Save Saved
You added Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

If there was a good score rather than very good I would award it at that level. This is a reliable place to stay, secure, clean and comfortable. The food is pretty mediocre but there are lots of places to eat nearby. Rooms are fine and reasonably well equipped, they have updated the bathrooms in the superior doubles rather well. Great access to central Birmingham with great parking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    173
    101
    26
    16
See reviews for
22
140
47
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed over for for the first time during the first weekend in December. Whilst being a regular visitor to Birmingham, this was the first time my wife had been and the first time, we as a couple had a night away in over 18 years. I wanted to avoid the normal type and style of a weekend break hotel so opted for The Menzies. I was not disappointed. The guys at reception, the overall look inside, the rooms and the room service (we had Christmas shopped the whole day) were faultless. Yes the rooms can be a little warm but was most welcome from the walk back from the city centre. The room was very, very clean and well laid out. The food was very reasonably priced and then room service choices was more than reasonable. Would stay again without a second thought

Room Tip: Outside rooms on a higher floor level would be a good suggestion, wonderful view of the city first t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel was good - not outstanding though.

Good Points:

Free WIFI in room
Clean
Free Carparking
Food OK - Not Gourmet though
Free meal on one of the two nights I stayed (an offer)

Minor Points

Gym is small - but ok for a jog
Room was small and odd shaped (but completely comfy and kitted out in Modern furniture)

Staff

All were helpful and attentive - no gripes here

OVERALL

Yes, I would stay here again - Good for business trips -wifi, etc. Close to town centre, parking ideal. I would recommend the place :-)

Room Tip: If with a family I would select a larger room. I havent seen them but I would imagine quality is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were keen to see the German Market so we booked 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) on line wiith Olotels which was offering a great Bed and Full Breakfast deal . The Market ,which turned out to be a collection of stalls selling ludicrously overpriced food, drink, and nondescript trinkets, was a waste of time. £2.50 for a small iced doughnut ???. The Hotel was a totally different ball game. Parking the car was easy. Our check in was smooth, our room '708' spotlessly clean and well appointed, with an impressive view. and the beds were extremely comfortable.The staff were all pleasant, obliging, well informed and appeared to have been trained to a very high standard. Despite the fact that several large functions were held until late during our stay, we heard nothing. A very wide choice was offered for breakfasts. The food was fresh,well cooked and appetising. Buses run into the city from a stop directly outside the hotel. A single ticket costs £2 per adult but the £3.90 rover gives unlimited travel on the day of issue. Bargain. The only MINUS point is that the hotel has a MAJOR issue with it's hot water pressure. The basin tap flow was ok but THE OVERBATH MIXER TAP FED SHOWER produced little better than a a weak dribble. A total rethink is indicated. Overall A great hotel . Thanks for an excellent stay. Will definitely be booking it again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quietest Ask for an outward facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on a weekend away and our trip to Cadburys world. The hotel was lovely and clean and friendly. We had a room situated on the top floor facing inwards, and our view was ugly but the room was nice and standard :) would stay again staff so polite and kind. The town centre was a lovely walk and me and my boyfriend love shopping so we had a fab time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We booked our works Christmas party at the Strathallan and it has been the best night out we have ever had. The room was beautiful and festive, the food was great and the service was smooth and seamless throughout. The hotel was very busy tonight as it is the main office party night in the city but there were no delays in orders being brought to the table - plus the food was hot, the meat was tender and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. There were 25 of us all together, including several vegetarians, and without exception we all really enjoyed our meals. The staff were attentive, bringing us jugs of water on request and also coming round with extra sauce and gravy for those who needed it. It was so much nicer than the usual over-microwaved then left to go cold fare on offer round Broad Street . . . .and with a fantastic disco to round things off to perfection! We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We booked this hotel due to the best price - let me be open about that. I was aware that this hotel wasn't really walking distance from B'ham centre but that was no issue as there is a frequent bus service for £2 per adult. We had a room on the top floor (712 I think). This was good as there was a very loud Xmas party when we stayed. Fortunately we couldn't hear it on the top floor - the room was an executive double, nice and spacious, clean, but no mini bar which was a shame. To me, and exec double should have this facility, but it didn't. Free car parking was a plus, as was the excellent buffet breakfast. Staff friendly, service good, and overall would recommend. We paid £90 btw for a Saturday night including breakfast which I thought was good.

Room Tip: Top floor a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham

Address: 225 Hagley Rd, Birmingham B16 9RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.