We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hosts, brilliant food, brilliant atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franzls Restaurant

Franzls Restaurant
151 Milcote Road, Bearwood, Birmingham B67 5BN, England
0044 1214297920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,608 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Smethwick
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant hosts, brilliant food, brilliant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is just superb vfm. The hosts are so friendly and the food is to die for ... Austrian dishes at their very best! Miss it, miss out.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Without doubt, the best restaurant we know!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The title says it all, really. And independently run restaurant of long standing with fabulous food, fabulous service, great authenticity and wonderful owners.

We are always made to feel "part of the family" when we dine there and I think it says a lot that we chose it for a perfect romantic meal for two on our wedding night. (There was no way we were having disco, standard sit down mean and lots of people we hardly know!)

Franzl's is in the most unlikely setting, surrounded by rows of terraced housing and although we normally walk there when we have driven parking's not been much of a problem as long as you driver around some of the side streets for a bit.

The bar ("Stube") downstairs is I can tell you very authentically Austrian and a Schnapps (or two) is a lovely start to the evening. Prices seem on the high side but that's because the main course includes both starter and dessert. To be honest, Franzl's isn't the sort of place you'd head to for a one or two course meal anyway. It's for "special" dining.

We have - quite literally - never been anywhere better and always look forward to our visits.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Always GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Its been a few years since i visited Franzls. However it is a good today as it was some years ago. The food, service and value are very good. In all the years in Bearwood the standard has not diminished at all. Just go and enjoy this unique dining experience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Excellent service. Unusual (Austrian) menu. Food well presented and tasty. Atmosphere intimate

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not disappointed once over the last 20 years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have visited this restaurant for special occasions over the last 20 years and have not once been disappointed once.
The food, service and good value for money has not changed over this period of time.
The owner Val is always attentive and certainly tends to go that extra mile more and more each time I visit.
The staff are very friendly and offer a personal service to all visitors.
We found this place years ago in a back street and what a gem - have never looked back since.
Great Atmosphere every time.......

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franzls Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Franzls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franzls Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.