We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be transported to India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shimla Pinks - Birmingham

Shimla Pinks - Birmingham
Five Ways Leisure Complex | Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1AY, England (Ladywood)
+44 121 633 0366
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shimla Pinks - Birmingham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #336 of 1,688 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: Birmingham's Shimla Pinks. Located on bustling Broad Street and recently refurbished, this fun, funky flagship eatery is decked with modern furniture and art. Mixed with all this modernity are the traditional Indian values of hospitality and service. Black-clad staff are friendly, hip and helpful. A well written menu lists an enticing mix of traditional (thalis, jalfrezi, passanda), less well known (harrey masaley ka gosht) and earthy North Indian tandoori dishes - all served with fragrant basmati rice, salad, mint yoghurt sauce. Delicious. Nice vegetarian choices. Our new opening hours are: Mon - Wed: 5pm - 11.30Pm. Thurs - Sat: 5pm - 12.30Am. Sun: 12pm - 10.30Pm
Alcala de Henares, spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“You will be transported to India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This nice place is a must in your visit to the city. Centrally located in broad street, it is a relaxing place where experiencing the nice flavours from India. Go and let the waiters choose for you, as I did, and you will not be disapointed. Everything is perfectly cooked, the service is very nice and the final bill is moderated too. An excellent alternative to your hotel restaurant if staying at (say) Hyatt or any other nearby hotel and you like indian cuisine.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    63
    42
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Top end Indian restaurant with extensive menu.
Attentive staff.
You need to dress up, go with an empty stomach and prepare to feast.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food - lovely decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

One of the best restaurants i have eaten in in this city. Certainly not your standard indian restaurant.
A little pricey - but you get what you pay for. Tasty!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“ok food, slow service, bad attitudes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visited on sat evening Jan 4th party of 6.
Restaurant was quite empty as you would expect after Christmas & new year and probably about 7-8 tables other than ourselves. We were welcomed and told to come through, until an older man said he would prefer if we had a drink at the bar first, which we did as we were in no rush. They kindly took our coats from us and after 15 minutes we were shown to our table.
At this point a young waiter introduced himself and heavily tried to sell the set menu at £50 a head. We were hungry but felt that it would be better to choose from the a la carte. At this point he took the set menus away and dropped a pile of the a la carte menus on the table. Again he asked if we would like more drinks which we did.
The order was taken at approx. 8.25 and at 9.45 we had still only had poppadoms to eat. Bear in mind that the place was empty.
We were starving and the food was extremely slow to arrive - I believe in order to make their profit from the drinks they were selling instead ( grey goose shot was £9.95!!!)
eventually starters arrived which were delicious and the mains at around 10.30 ( 2 1/2 hours afer we had walked into the restaurant)
At this point we decided to leave as we were getting looks from the waiters. We requested the bill and counted out the money on the table to pay. At this point the owner came over and snatched the money off the table before we had handed it to him - incredibly rude.
We went to collect our coats and the girl dropped them on the floor and said those are yours.
I really felt as if us not having the set menu had really messed up their plans to capitalise on what was the largest group booking of the night as the service and attitude of the staff after we declined was too obvious. Will NOT be returning

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New years eve dinner in a nightclub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went here for dinner on new years eve. Admittedly the website did say they had a DJ and a dancefloor, but whilst the music was quite loud at the start of the evening it was at least tolerable. However, around 11.30am, the DJs (or perhaps they were the boss' sons with aspirations of being a club DJ?) turned the music up so loud it actually hurt our ears. If I'd wanted to go to a club I'd have gone to gatecrasher next door... We ended up having to leave our table and sit in the bar area at the front of the restaurant whilst we waited for our taxi. For me it ruined the night and I think it notable that by 12.15am the restaurant was empty, despite the night being advertised as going on till 2am.

As for the food, it was just plain average. Pretty much every other curry house I've been to does food just as good and I've been to plenty that do better. So whilst we paid for a set menu, the normal prices I saw on the menu would make it vastly over-priced. Service was OK, but the decor was a bit tacky (unless you like blinged out see through plastic buttons on faux leather).

The only reason to go here is if you're drunk and/or a tourist and don't know your way around Birmingham. There's loads of much better restaurants around, and I'll not be returning here again, ever.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Pinks - Birmingham also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Shimla Pinks - Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimla Pinks - Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.