We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks good and tastes good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Opus at Ikon

Cafe Opus at Ikon
1 Oozells Square | Brindley Place, Birmingham B1 2HS, England (Formerly Cafe Ikon) (Ladywood)
(0121) 248 3226
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Opus at Ikon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #295 of 1,592 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ladywood
birmingham england
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“looks good and tastes good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been to this cafe in the Ikon Gallery three times since it came under the management of the Opus restaurant. The inside and terrace outside looks good with its brightly coloured chairs. The all day menu offers a delightful range of drinks, cakes, snacks and meals, all beuatifully cooked. I have sampled the fresh grilled asparagus with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce as a brunch snack and the grilled pollack with pan fried potatoes and spinach as a supper from the specials board. Both perfect as is the pricing especially for beverages. There is free wifi too, well worth a visit whether or not you are taking in one of the Ikons exhibitions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    52
    17
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My first visit.I had been many times when it was Spanish tapas and a few times when it was refurbished, still Spanish, but not as good. This was a pleasant surprise,really good wild mushrooms on toast,decent glass of house rose. Mid-afternoon snack and the cost was very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great coffee and cake and a million times nicer than starbucks or costa! Some lovely brunch options too. Def be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting under good new management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Ikon gallery was originally a Victorian inner city school. It fell into a very sad state until it was wonderfully renovated as part of the Brindleyplace regeneration. It was then opened as the Ikon Gallery of Modern Art where the front of the ground floor is a set up as an atmospheric restaurant opening on to one of Birmingham' s most attractive squares, which is Iined with flowering cherry trees around a Japanese peace garden. For some years, this restaurant was a successful tapas bar but was then handed back to the Ikon Gallery to run for a couple of years, which was not a great success. Recently, it has been revamped by the very successful Birmingham Opus team and a new life has commenced here now.

The team are professional but friendly and attentive. On a warm summers afternoon, there is no where in the city that offers such a warm and pretty environment as the terrace overlooking Oozells Square to take tea and cakes. They also serve breakfast, although for me, rather a late start at 11.00. The dinner menu is straightforward bistro-type food, which is refreshing as Birmingham lacks good privately run restaurants with imagination.

The start is good; let us hope they long continue in this vein.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I will always be honest in my reviews.
Called here at 5ish on a Saturday with my husband and the sun had finally come out. We opted to sit outside and make the most of the sunshine. As a cafe, I wasn't sure what to expect and I consider myself difficult to please when it comes to food. I was spoilt for choice. A compact menu and enough to cause a dilemma on what to order. There were also 'specials' which the staff went through and a few extra sides also on offer. The food was outstanding, freshly cooked and exceeds the cafe title. From a Chardonnay to a coffee, fresh fish to a warm home baked scone jam and cream. Staff were really helpful and as the sun decided to hide the patio heaters went on and we were offered fleecy throws, they were not needed but a nice touch I felt. We will for certain be back. In fact, Sunday brunch menu noted and not at all expensive. You can't mistake it...bright yellow patio chairs which are really comfortable just off Broad St :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Opus at Ikon also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Cafe Opus at Ikon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Opus at Ikon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.