We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Electric Cinema

Electric Cinema
47 - 49 Station St, Birmingham B5 4DY , England (Ladywood)
0121 643 7879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 45 Fun & Games in Birmingham
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very disappointed. The website promises many things but delivers little unfortunately. The cinema itself was dirty. We had booked the front seats with footstools but it is not worth the money you pay for it. The website also offers 'a selection of homemade cakes' does a hard cookie count?! Selection is practically non existent and what we had was horrendous went to waste after the first bite. Tea was served in dirty cups. Staff were friendly but very disappointed wouldn't recommend and wouldn't return. Also bathroom facilities are HORRENDOUS incredibly filthy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    113
    15
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great little cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was hired out for a private 30th birthday party. They let us decorate the foyer with balloons and posters and it was lovely to know everyone you were watching the film with! Really comfy seats and a good choice of food and drinks to take in. Would recommend everyone to go and pay a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Its a great venue, small cinema. Shows are maintstream, artsy or the good old flicks! A little pricey but we love it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went here to watch The hunger games 2... Brilliant Idea where you can sit on the Sofas at the back of the room and you can also Order drinks and food to be brought to you... Defo worth going.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great film, great venue, good prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to watch saving mr banks, we originally planned to go gold glass at vue but seeing the price for a sofa was about the same we opted for the more interesting venue and experience of visiting one of the oldest working cinemas! Staff were great, seats were comfy with a good view. Thought the waiter service would be over priced but it was really reasonable! And great to have some beers and spirits, ice cream, cookies & sweets stocked up mid film without any disruption! Parking cost £3 in nearby NCP.

Only thing to point out is that we went to eat at a Chinese two doors up starters were horrible so we cancelled main course but they made us pay for it anyway (hence the munchies half way through the film!) It was a Chinese with red booths inside not sure of the name, but obviously no reflection on cinema. Be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Electric Cinema also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Electric Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electric Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.