We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old cinema” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Electric Cinema

Electric Cinema
47 - 49 Station St, Birmingham B5 4DY , England (Ladywood)
0121 643 7879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 198 attractions in Birmingham
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great old cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A great, old fashioned cinema, with the choice to book a sofa to sit on rather than the traditional seats, and a range of food and drinks rather than the normal popcorn and soft drinks. It can be a little threadbare, but still very comfy

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    94
    14
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best cinema around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I've visited this cinema on numerous occasions (new releases and retro classics!) and I love it here! Yes, there's a bit of a musty, ageing smell about the place but it's all part of the charm. I always book and soda and always send a text message or a drink - such a great experience! I also love the snacks - no popcorn in sight! I always have the pretzels and have been known to consume dish after dish of chorizo! The best time to visit is a late afternoon, early evening matinée when it's a cold, wintery day. You can take off your scarf, coat and shoes and snuggle up to watch a great film. i like to order hot chocolate which is served in a proper mug! We normally go for food afterwards and discuss the movie we've just watched! If you love films then you'll love this place. It must be a great first date venue! Definitely worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The screening room had an odour about it, cant put my finger on it but wasnt very pleasant, may have been the plastic sofas sweating. It was a good experience, the service was good and quite an intimate setting, 6pm showing, not at all busy. Nice G and T's and good company. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy and old fashioned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I loved the settees and the whole comfort thing of watching a film with a bottle of wine or you could choose tea /coffee and cake according to your personal preference....also the films are usually ones not on general release or have been out for a while...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, lovely history to the cinema, I loved the sofas
Easily my favourite cinema in England

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Electric Cinema also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Electric Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electric Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Electric Cinema to your Saves list