We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT APARTMENTS OUTSTANDING SERVICE YOU HAVE TO TRY!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PostBox by BridgeStreet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added PostBox by BridgeStreet to your Saves list
PostBox by BridgeStreet
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   120 Upper Marshall Street, Birmingham B1 1LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“BRILLIANT APARTMENTS OUTSTANDING SERVICE YOU HAVE TO TRY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

This was my first experience of an apartment as I usually stay in hotels and I will definitely be trying apartments again both for business and for a weekend with my family. Much more space than a hotel room, excellent kitchen - even a dishwasher - and really friendly staff. The Postbox is really close to the Mail Box where there is a small supermarket and plenty of different places to eat and to drink. There is even a BBC tour close by if you want to stay with your family. The apartments have their own parking which is much more secure and reasonable than any other car parks in a city centre. Staff are excellent, full of suggestions, escorted me to my apartment and even called me later to see that I was OK. Brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
7
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment last weekend with a couple of friends and we had a great time. The apartments are really nicely decorated and although not huge- had plenty of space for our requirements.

In general- 2 bathrooms were great with good showers, beds were very comfy, kitchen was well equipped and stylish (and they'd provided dishwasher tabs for the dishwasher!), dining table with seating for 4 people and comfy sofas with tv and dvd player. There's also lots of storage in both the bedrooms and the lounge.

The location is really good. It's about a 10 minute walk from New Street station and about a 1 minute stroll to The Mailbox which has lots of restaurants to choose from. There is also a Texco Express there which was really useful. If you were going to an event at the NIA it's literally a 10 minute walk by the side of the canal. However, around the apartments it is incredibly quiet and peaceful.

The man who checked us in was really helpful and even took us over the the Mailbox so we knew where everything was.

We had a lovely weekend and it felt like we were moving out rather than checking out!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Went with 3 girls for a night out in Birmingham. Was very impressed with apartment had a 2 bedroom 1 with ensuite very comfortable and warm. Felt very much at home did not want to leave. Very clean and equipped with every ammuity you could want or need. The gentleman who took us around was very helpful and gave us a lot of tips. It was hard to leave the next morning.
The only problem we found was we had to depart by 10.30 in the morning which was just too early if you go out the night before. But they had a flea market on that weekend. Would definiately be going back

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Found the Postbox with no trouble – it is on a back street which is beside the Mailbox.

Reception was very friendly, I arrived at about 13:40 so was 20 minutes early too early to check-in, however someone went and checked the apartment while I attended to the masses of paperwork there is to complete. I had booked a one-bedroomed apartment but was told that they had ran out so had been upgraded FOC to a 2 bedroomed unit (the gentleman who took me to the apartment even said “you have a second bedroom, so if you like you could call some friends and have them come and stay”).

I had parked on the street, but bought a 3 day pass to the on-site car park at £12 + VAT. I was taken to get my car, then shown how to operate the secure parking, and then taken up to the apartment – the gentleman even offered to carry my luggage.

My apartment was on the 2nd floor, on a corner with floor to ceiling windows which swept around the corner.

There was a sitting/dinning/kitchen area. The sitting area had TV/CD player/DVD 2 leather sofas, 2 coffee tables.

The dining area had a table and 4 chairs.

The kitchen was fully fitted with hob/oven/microwave/dishwasher/washer-drier/large fridge freezer. There were tablets for the dishwasher but no washing up liquid. Plenty of crockery/cutlery/pans etc.

There were 2 bedrooms, each with double beds and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.

Strangely for a 2 bed “upper” quality apartment, there was only 1 bathroom (shower over bath) – which had 2 doors – 1 from the master bedroom and one from the hallway. Toiletries were provided.

All linen was clean and of good quality.

The apartment was fitted to a good standard, and was very clean.

My only comment, on that particular apartment, was that the window in the living area could have done with voiles at them, as you looked directly into an office building – and more to the point, they looked right into you. Also an i-Pod dock would be a good idea rather than the CD player.

I got a very good rate via Laterooms – and really cannot complain. I would certainly return – but the trick is to monitor the prices on the web sites and not to be in too much of a hurry to book – I saved over £40 per night (on an already discounted rate).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Wide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

Great quiet location, with new modern fit out, don't know how old the place is but it must be very new. Comfy beds, with modern bathrooms, kitchen and lounge, it has TV, stereo, and DVD player.
Spent 9 days there, and highly recommend it. I got a good price from [--] There are restaurants, pubs and supermarket close by, walking distance. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Its location and its modern amenities
  • Disliked — Paying for internet, but still quite cheep
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PostBox by BridgeStreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PostBox by BridgeStreet

Address: 120 Upper Marshall Street, Birmingham B1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PostBox by BridgeStreet 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your PostBox by BridgeStreet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postbox By Bridgestreet Worldwide Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PostBox by BridgeStreet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.